March 2, 2019

Ohio State Men Take Third at Big Ten Championships


Full Results

IOWA CITY, Iowa – The Ohio State men’s swimming & diving team posted a third-place finish at the 2019 Big Ten Swimming & Diving Championships, notching several record-setting performances on the final day of the championship meet hosted by Iowa at the Campus Recreation and Wellness Center in Iowa City, Iowa.

The 400 Free Relay squad set a new school record with an NCAA “A” Cut of 2:48.75, and individually, Paul DeLakis set a new 200 Breast record at 1:53.57 while Noah Lense improved his 200 Fly record to 1:40.36.

With 1,243.5 points, the Buckeyes earn a third-place finish overall. Indiana was the conference champion with 1,705 points. DeLakis, Lense, Andrew Loy, Henrique Painhas, Ruslan Gaziev, Mossimo Chavez, Ben Sugar and Matthew Abeysinghe were all named Second Team All-Big Ten. Nick Hogsed was named Ohio State’s 2019 Sportsmanship honoree.

1650 Free
• Nick Hogsed swam a season best in the 1650 Free, placing 11th with a time of 15:12.52.
• Carson Burt set a new personal best, finishing 16th with atime of 15:16.09.

200 Back
• Colin McDermott took eighth place in the C Final after recording a personal best time of 1:44.86 in the preliminary.

100 Free
• Andrew Loy added another medal to his collection, placing third. Loy set a career best in the preliminary at 42.48, tying for second in program history. Ruslan Gaziev also represented the Buckeyes in the A Final, taking fifth after a personal best in the morning of 42.51 which is also the fourth fastest all-time.
• Matthew Abeysinghe was sixth in the B Final, posting a season best of 43.21 in the previous session.
• Mossimo Chavez took third in the C Final and swam a season-best time of 43.59 in the prelims.
• Kalvin Koethke registered a season-best in the morning session, clocking in at 44.48.

200 Breast
• Paul DeLakis led the way for the Buckeyes, lowering his school record to 1:53.57 after replacing the previous best set by Elliott Keefer in 2010 at 1:54.13 in the preliminary. Jason Mathews made his way onto the all-time fastest list, clocking in at 1:54.34 for fifth.
• Connor Isings finished sixth in the B Final, notching a season-best time of 1:56.75 in the prelim.
• Evan McFadden recorded a personal best of 1:58.53 in the preliminary and took eighth in the C Final.

200 Fly
• Noah Lense dropped 1.69 off his preliminary time in the A Final, taking silver by clocking in at 1:40.36 and lowering his school record from last season. His time is an NCAA “A” Cut.
Henrique Painhas notched a personal best in the prelim at 1:42.33, also increasing his hold on the No. 2 time in program history. He finished sixth in the A Final.
• Michael Salazar reached a new career best in the A Final, taking seventh with a time of 1:44.08.
• Alex Dillmann won the B Final with a personal-best time of 1:44.66, while Daniel Gloude took sixth and turned in a career best of 1:44.69 in the morning session.

• Aaron Daniels-Freeman tallied a season-high score of 397.90, taking sixth in the final.
• Christo Law took first in the consolation final, notching a total of 414.80 which is a season best. Law was followed by Jacob Siler in second with a mark of 386.80. Jacob Fielding placed fourth (368.80) and Joey Canova was fifth (366.20).

400 Free Relay
• To close out the meet, the Buckeye relay team of Andrew Loy, Paul DeLakis, Matthew Abeysinghe and Ruslan Gaziev was just .08 away from first place, taking second with a school-record time of 2:48.75.
• Loy led off the group with a split of 42.38. DeLakis took over and swam a split of 42.45, followed by Abeysinghe at 42.47. Anchoring the group, Gaziev turned in a time of 41.45.
• The relay time is an NCAA “A” Cut.

Ohio State hosts a women’s Last Chance meet on Sunday, March 3 at McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion.

2019 Big Ten Swimming & Diving Championships
March 2, 2019
Campus Recreation and Wellness Center – Iowa City, Iowa 

1650 Free
11. Nick Hogsed (15:12.52)
16. Carson Burt (15:16.09)

200 Back
24. Colin McDermott (1:45.97)

100 Free
3. Andrew Loy (42.65
5. Ruslan Gaziev (42.74)
14. Matthew Abeysinghe (43.48)
19. Mossimo Chavez (43.61)
22. Mateo Chavez (44.01)

200 Breast
4. Paul DeLakis (1:53.57)
5. Jason Mathews (1:53.70)
14. Connor Isings (1:57.16)
24. Evan McFadden (1:59.26)

6. Aaron Daniels-Freeman (397.90)
9. Christo Law (414.80)
10. Jacob Siler (386.80
12. Jacob Fielding (368.80)
13. Joey Canova (366.20)

400 Free Relay
2. Loy, DeLakis, Abeysinghe, Gaziev (2:48.75)