February 23, 2018

Ohio State Men in First Place After Day One of B1G Championships


Feb. 23, 2018

Geneva, Ohio – Sade Olatoye (shot put), Zack Bazile (long jump), Nick Demaline (shot put) and Cole Gorski (pole vault) of Ohio State track and field kicked off the 2018 Big Ten Track and Field Championships with titles in their respective events on Friday at the Spire Institute. After the first day of competition, the Ohio State men’s team is in first place with 39.5 points over Indiana 29 points. 

Championships Need to Knows
Championship Central | Meet Schedule | Live Results | Day One Results | Day Two Stream

The two-day meet will be streamed live on BTN2Go and FloTrack. On Monday evening (Feb. 26), tape-delayed coverage of the meet will air on the Big Ten Network at 8 p.m. ET. The Ohio State women are in eight place with 12 points.

Olatoye was the first Buckeye of the day to claim a title. She won the shot put crown for the second consecutive year to become the first Ohio State woman to win the indoor shot put B1G title in back to back years. The junior from Dublin, Ohio, heaved the shot put 17.27m (56-8.00) for her gold medal. Her mark of 56 feet, 8 inches was more than a foot better than the runner-up finisher.

Bazile won the second long jump title of his career on Friday night. He set a Spire Institute record with a winning jump of 8.04m (26-4.50) to win the event by nearly of two feet; he won his previous title in 2015 as a freshman. Bazile will return to the sand pit in the triple jump on Saturday with hopes of scoring more points for the Buckeyes.

Continuing Ohio State’s masterful domination of the shot put was Demaline. He scored his first career B1G indoor title with a personal-best heave of 20.33m (66-8.50) on Friday evening. The mark is the fourth-best throw in the NCAA and is the third-best throw in school history. Dating back to 2017, Ohio State has now won five of the last six shot put titles contested at the Big Ten Championships (indoor and outdoor) with Olatoye winning three titles and Demaline capturing two. Max Seipel launched the best throw of his career with a toss of 18.55m (60-10.50) to finish in seventh place.

Gorski, the school record holder in the both the indoor and outdoor pole vault, claimed the Buckeyes’ first pole vault title since 2012 on Friday night. The senior from Tontogany, Ohio, cleared 5.28m (17-3.75) for his title; Indiana’s Adam Coulon also cleared the same height, but it took him more attempts, therefore Gorski was the champion. Coty Cobb also pitched in with a sixth-place finish in the pole vault with a clearance of 5.08m (16-8.00) to score 2.5 points.

The men’s distance medley relay squad of Paul Bete, Joseph Cooper, Alex Lomong and Luke Landis combined to clock a season-best time of 9:46.21 to place fourth and earn five points for Ohio State. 

Ohio State is in prime position to pick up more crucial points on the track on Saturday. The Buckeyes have 23 finalists scheduled to compete on Saturday – 12 men and 11 women. They are listed below:
Men Finalists
Luke Landis – Mile Run
Kevin Blank – Mile Run
Andre Jeff – 400m dash
Nick Gray – 60m dash
Kendall Sheffield – 60m dash
Eric Harrison Jr. – 60m dash
Alex Lomong – 800m run
DaJuan Seward – 60m hurdles
Tavonte Mott – 60m hurdles
Ryan Harrington – 600m run
Nick Gray – 200m dash
Eric Harrison Jr. – 200m dash
Women Finalists
Abby Nichols – Mile run – Her time of 4:44.92 was the No. 2 time in program history
Beatrice Hannan – 400m dash
Maggie Barrie – 400m dash
Anavia Battle – 60m dash
Aziza Ayoub – 800m run
Julia Rizk – 800m run
Chantel Ray – 60m hurdles
Karrington Winters – 600m run
Annie Ubbing – 600m run
Anavia Battle – 200m dash
Syaira Richardson – 200m dash