March 6, 2014

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Several members of the Ohio State women’s hockey team have been recognized by the league for their achievements in the classroom by being named to the WCHA All-Academic team.

Ohio State had a league-high 16 student-athletes receive the honor and 91 total WCHA women’s hockey players were announced as all-academic honorees Thursday night at the league awards ceremony being held in Bemidji, Minn.

Ohio State’s 2013-2014 WCHA All-Academic honorees (*indicates repeat honoree): *Becky Allis, Sr. (West Olive, Mich.); Kendall Curtis, So. (Highlands Ranch, Colo.); *Stacy Danczak, Jr. (Macedonia, Ohio); Kara Gust, Jr. (Orland Park, Ill.); Chelsea Knapp, Sr. (York, N.Y.); *Taylor Kuehl, Jr. (Minnetrista, Minn.); *Madison Marcotte, Sr. (White Bear Lake, Minn.); Julia McKinnon, So. (Kelowna, British Columbia); Melani Moylan, So. (Mississauga, Ontario); Bryanna Neuwald, So. (Oakville, Ontario); *Kari Schmitt, Jr. (Canton, Mich.); *Sara Schmitt, Jr. (Canton, Mich.); Lisa Steffes, Sr. (Amherstburg, Ontario); *Kayla Sullivan, Jr. (Flower Mound, Texas); *Annie Svedin, Sr. (Söråker, Sweden); Cara Zubko, So. (Stenen, Saskatchewan).

To qualify for the WCHA All-Academic Team, student-athletes must have completed one year of eligibility at present institution, prior to the current academic year and have a GPA of at least 3.0 for the previous two semesters or three quarters.