Seventeen faculty and staff at Ohio State University have been named as Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the largest group chosen from any single university in the country to receive this honor.

The list of 531 researchers, scientists and scholars receiving this designation was published in the current issue of the journal Science. AAAS is the world’s largest general scientific organization and is the publisher of Science.

The Ohio State contingent of new Fellows includes a physicist, geologist, neuroscientist, geneticist, mathematician, astronomer, microbiologist, geographer and other scholars, including the university’s president, E. Gordon Gee.

“Ohio State has a long tradition as home to many world-renowned experts from dozens of academic disciplines,” he said.

“I am humbled to be included among this group of distinguished scholars and researchers. Our responsibility to the people of Ohio, the nation and the world is to provide an environment in which leading-edge scholarship flourishes to address pressing human needs.”

Read More