March 9, 2013

Championship Central | Brackets Live Streaming | Live Results | Facebook | Twitter

COLUMBUS, Ohio– The Ohio State wrestling team witnessed two upsets by the Buckeyes in the first session of the 2013 Big Ten Championships Saturday at Assembly Hall in Champaign, Ill. The Scarlet and Gray sit in fourth place with 47.5 points following pigtail and quarterfinal action behind wins from eighth seed Ian Paddock and sixth seed Josh Demas. Paddock beat No. 1 Eric Grajales, 7-4, in the 149-pound bracket and at 157 pounds, Demas followed with a 5-1 double overtime win vs. No. 3 Dylan Alton of Penn State.

Iowa leads the field with 79 points. Penn State is second with 62 points and Minnesota rounds out the Top 3 with 49 points. Session two will begin at 6 p.m. ET Saturday.

In addition to Paddock and Demas, three other Buckeyes in No. 1 Logan Stieber (133 pounds), No. 1 Hunter Stieber (141 pounds) and No. 4 Andrew Campolattano (197 pounds) will continue action in the semifinals. Nikko Triggas (125 pounds), Mark Martin (165 pounds), Nick Heflin (174 pounds), C.J. Magrum (184 pounds) and Kosta Karageorge (HWT) will vie for a third-place finish after dropping to wrestlebacks.

Drawing Grajales after receiving a first-round bye, Paddock owned a slim 2-1 lead entering the second period and after starting on bottom, the Buckeye from Warsaw, N.Y., scored a reversal for a 4-1 advantage. However, Grajales answered with a reversal of his own to cut his deficit to 4-3. With about 33 seconds remaining in the middle period, Paddock scored an escape for a 5-3 lead and not long after recorded a takedown for a 7-3 advantage. Despite the escape by Grajales to open the third period, Paddock was able to hold on for the victory and advance to the semifinals.

It took a pair of sudden victory periods before Demas was able to put Alton on his back to advance to the semifinals. Following a scoreless first period, an escape by Demas was the lone point scored in the second. Starting on bottom, Alton was able to score the escape and send the bout into its first sudden victory period. With both wrestlers riding each other out in the subsequent two 30-second periods, both wrestlers were forced into a second sudden victory.

Heading to the semifinals as well, L. Stieber got off to a fast start when he pinned Rossi Bruno of Michigan in 1:30. H. Stieber recorded back-to-back victories, first beating Michigan State’s Nick Trimble, 10-3 and then No. 8 Camryn Jackson of Michigan, 10-2. Leading, 6-2, after the first period vs. Trimble, H. Stieber extended his lead to, 8-3, after the second on a takedown. Courtesy of a final escape and riding time, H. Stieber earned a first-round victory. Against Jackson, H. Stieber held a 5-0 shutout before finishing with the win.

Campolattano wrestled once in the first session after receiving a first-round bye and took advantage of the opportunity when he decisioned Braden Atwood of Purdue, 7-6. With a tight 5-3 lead at the end of the second period, Campolattano chose bottom at the start of the third and was able to escape and take a 6-3 advantage. However, Atwood quickly took Campolattano down and cut the Buckeye’s lead to 6-5, but Campolattano was able to hold on for the win.

A pair of Buckeyes – Martin and Magrum – faced the No. 1 seeds and defending Big Ten champions in their respective quarterfinal matches – Penn State’s David Taylor and Ed Ruth – after winning their first-round bouts. Martin, the ninth-seed, scored an upset vs. No. 8 Austin Wilson of Nebraska, 6-2, while Magrum handed Ben Cox of Wisconsin a 17-0 loss. However, both Buckeyes loss 20-5 and 19-3, respectively, in the quarterfinals.

Opening his final Big Ten championship with a 4-2 win vs. Brenan Lyon of Michigan State, Triggas dropped a decision, by the same score, to No. 4 Sean Boyle of Michigan in the quarterfinals. Heflin lost his opening match in the quarterfinals vs. No. 5 Matt Brown, 7-1. In pigtails, Karageorge suffered a 9-1 setback to Jimmy Lawson of Penn State.

2013 Big Ten Championships
March 9, 2013
Session I
Assembly Hall
Champaign, Ill.

Team Standings
1: Iowa – 79.0
2: Penn State – 62.0
3: Minnesota – 49.0
4: Ohio State – 47.5
5: Illinois – 33.0
6: Michigan – 32.0
7: Nebraska – 26.0
8: Northwestern – 22.0
9: Wisconsin – 18.5
10: Michigan State – 10.0
11: Purdue – 9.0
12: Indiana – 4.0

Individual Results
No. 5 Nikko Triggas dec. Brenan Lyon (Michigan State), 4-2
No. 4 Sean Boyle (Michigan) dec. No. 5 Nikko Triggas, 4-2

No. 1 Logan Stieber pins Rossi Bruno (Michigan), 1:30

No. 1 Hunter Stieber dec. Nick Trimble (Michigan State), 10-3
No. 1 Hunter Stieber major dec. No. 8 Camryn Jackson (Michigan), 10-2

No. 8 Ian Paddock dec. No. 1 Eric Grajales (Michigan), 7-4

No. 6 Josh Demas dec. No. 3 Dylan Alton (Penn State), 5-1(sv2)

No. 9 Mark Martin dec. No. 8 Austin Wilson (Nebraska), 6-2
No. 1 David Taylor (Penn State) tech fall No. 9 Mark Martin, 20-5 (5:44)

No. 5 Matt Brown (Penn State) dec. No. 4 Nick Heflin, 7-1

No. 8 C.J. Magrum major tech fall Ben Cox (Wisconsin), 17-0 (5:42)
No. 1 Ed Ruth (Penn State) tech fall No. 8 C.J. Magrum, 19-3 (5:38)

No. 4 Andrew Campolattano dec. Braden Atwood (Purdue), 7-6

No. 7 Jimmy Lawson (Penn State) major dec. No. 10 Kosta Karageorge, 9-1