COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Ohio State women’s soccer team has been selected to host the first and second rounds of the NCAA tournament, the NCAA announced Monday afternoon. The third-seeded Buckeyes open with St. Francis (Pa.) at 5 p.m. Friday at Jesse Owens Memorial Stadium.

“I’m thrilled that we will be hosting,” head coach Lori Walker. “To me that’s the most important thing but I’m glad the work we did in the regular season put us in a position to host. We need to continue to focus on the things that have made us successful and take things one game at a time.”

Ohio State posted a 14-4-1 record in the regular season, 8-2-0 in Big Ten Conference play. The Buckeyes clinched the title with a 1-0 win over Michigan State in the regular season finale Friday evening.

In 18 seasons of women’s soccer, 2010 marks the sixth time and third time in the past four seasons the Buckeyes have reached the NCAA tournament. Ohio State is 4-5 all-time in NCAA play, all under the direction of Walker.

St. Francis, the Northeast Conference champion, is 15-4-2 overall and defeated Long Island in the conference championship game.

Dayton will take on Virginia Tech in the second game Friday evening. First round winners play at 1 p.m. Sunday.

The Big Ten finished with five teams in the tournament, joining the Buckeyes are Penn State, Wisconsin, Illinois, Minnesota and Michigan. The Buckeyes also faced Marquette, Milwaukee, West Virginia, Arizona State and Dayton in the regular season. Ohio State went 6-3-1 against NCAA tournament teams in 2010.