April 13, 2017

Ohio State Hosts Duke, Notre Dame and Michigan at Griggs Reservoir


April 13, 2017

Race Schedule | Live Stream (Saturday – 8 a.m. ET)

Columbus, Ohio – The fourth-ranked Ohio State women’s rowing team will host No. 3 Michigan, No. 20 Duke and Notre Dame (RV) for a regatta on Saturday morning on the Scioto River at Griggs Reservoir. Races are scheduled to begin at 8 a.m. ET. The regatta will be streamed on Facebook Live (OhioStateWROW). 

Boats will travel north to south on the Scioto. The finish line, where most spectators gather to watch the event, is located off of Riverside Dr., just north of Fishinger Rd. Parking is available for fans.

Saturday will serve as the last home regatta for nine seniors. Aina Cid I Centelles, Stephanie Williams, Allyson Baker, Daphne Socha, Anne Dietrich, Sarah Peffley, Sandra Dinter, Joan Darnell and Cassidy Jenney have played a huge role in the success of the program throughout the past four years. Cid I Centelles and Socha were members of the first national title in program history in 2013. During their time in Columbus, this senior class owns three national titles and have reeled off an impressive four-consecutive conference titles.

Boat of the Week Accolades
Through three weeks of the season, Ohio State has had two boats honored after regattas. Following the season opener against No. 9 Yale and Harvard, the First Varsity Four of Ashley Saba, Kimberleigh Warriner, Hanna Gottschalk, Annie Jachthuber and Helen Sudhoff (coxswain) was named the B1G Boat of the Week (March 28) for their outstanding performance that resulted in a 2-0 record.

Last week (April 4), the Second Varsity Eight – Hanna Gottschalk, Kimberleigh Warriner, Catherine McNutt, Maddie Perrett, Chelsea Harpool, Bridget Schodorf, Cassandra Johnson, Annie Jachthuber and Anjali Fernandes -earned the honors after going 2-1 at the Pac-12 Challenge. The 2V8 successfully knocked off No. 1 California and No. 10 Stanford at the regatta.

Scouting Michigan, Duke and Notre Dame
Michigan enters the regatta one spot ahead of the Buckeyes in the CRCA/US Rowing poll. The Wolverines earned victories over Minnesota and No. 11 Wisconsin last weekend. Duke is returning from a two-week break off the waters. The Blue Devils last competed at the Longhorn Invite, and their 2V4 boat was named the ACC Crew of the Week after defeating No. 8 Texas, Notre Dame and Iowa in the A finals. Notre Dame is coming off a weekend trip to California in a regatta against Gonzaga, California, UCF and Boston University.

Staying Steady
The Buckeyes entered the season ranked second in the Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association preseason poll. Ohio State returns 23 letterwinners from 2016’s runner-up squad at the NCAA Championships. Ohio State has a plethora of championship experience coming back with 15 of the 23 rowers from the 2016 NCAA Championships scheduled to compete this season. The Buckeyes have won a conference record four-straight championships dating back to 2013. Ohio State stayed put in this week’s CRCA/US Rowing Coaches Poll at No. 4 with 378 points.

International Waters
The Buckeyes were busy this past summer, with five rowers competing at the U-23 Rowing Championships in Rotterdam, Netherlands and one rower competing at the Rio Olympics. Aina Cid Centelles represented Spain at the Olympics in the women’s pair event. Cid Centelles and her partner, Anna Boada Peiro, made it to the finals and placed sixth in the event.

At U-23’s, Daphne Socha, Cassandra Johnson, Rachel Engel, Stephanie Williams and Laura Monteso Esmel all competed for their countries. Socha represented France in the quad sculls and won bronze. Johnson competed in the 8+ for the U.S. against fellow teammates Engel and Williams, who both rowed for Australia. Johnson and the U.S. won gold with a time of 6:36.90 and the Aussies came in fifth. Monteso Esmel competed for Spain in the lightweight skull pair.

Follow us on Twitter at @OhioState_WROW for live updates.

First Varsity Eight (4-3)
Alice Riley
Bridget Schodorf
Sandra Dinter
Anne Dietrich
Aina Cid I Centelles
Rachel Engel
Stephanie Williams
Ida Kruse
Coxswain – Cassidy Jenney 

Second Varsity Eight (5-2)
Chelsea Harpool
Kimberleigh Warriner
Sarah Peffley
Maddie Perrett
Allyson Baker
Morgan Hummel
Cassandra Johnson
Annie Jachthuber
Coxswain – Anjali Fernandes 

First Varsity Four (5-2)
Hanna Gottschalk
Hannah Hites
Catherine McNutt
Kaylee Koker
Coxswain – Helen Sudhoff 

Second Varsity Four (3-0)
Ashley Saba
Joan Darnell
Abby Ernst
Kendell Massier
Coxswain – Emma Warns 

Third Varsity Four (3-1 W/L by Race, 5-1 Overall)
Daphne Socha
Laura Monteso Esmel
Bianca Piloseno
Rachel Serafy
Coxswain – Meghan Mahoney

First Novice Eight (2-2 W/L by Race, 3-2 Overall)
Bailey Spees
Madelaine Frendberg
Katherine Kreczmer
Madison Sheahan
Grace Libben
Megan Anderson
Sierra Tiede
Olivia Carter
Coxswain – Cameron Garcia 

Second Novice Eight (1-3 W/L by Race, 4-3 Overall)
Virginia Brosnahan
Kristin Hoying
Kylie Sturgill
Cara Walterbusch
Michayla Binkley
Sheridan Cleave
Sydnee Wilke
Jeanette Gardner
Coxswain – Julia Linares