March 18, 2014


COLUMBUS, Ohio– Eight members of the Ohio State wrestling team will travel to Oklahoma City, Okla., Tuesday for the 2014 NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships at Chesapeake Energy Arena. The event will begin Thursday at noon ET starting with preliminary action and will conclude at 8 p.m. ET Saturday with the finals. Representing the Buckeye contingent at the 2014 edition of the championships are Nick Roberts (125 pounds), Johnni DiJulius (133 pounds), Logan Stieber (141 pounds), Ian Paddock (149 pounds), Mark Martin (174 pounds), Kenny Courts (184 pounds), Nick Heflin (197 pounds) and Nick Tavanello (HWT).

For more information regarding the 2014 NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships, including ticket information, click on the Championships Central page.

2014 NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships
Schedule of Events (All Times Eastern)
Thursday, March 20
First Session – Noon
Pigtails & First Round
Second Session – 7 p.m.
Wrestlebacks Pigtails, Wrestleback First Round & Second Round

Friday, March 21
Third Session – 11 a.m.
Quarterfinals & Wrestleback Second and Third Rounds
Fourth Session – 8 p.m.
Semifinals & Wrestleback Fourth and Fifth Rounds

Saturday, March 22
Fifth Session – 11 a.m.
Wrestleback Semifinals & Third, Fifth and Seventh-Place Rounds
Sixth Session – 8 p.m.
Championships Finals

Championship Coverage
ESPN will provide unprecedented coverage of the 2014 NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships. All sessions of the event will air live on either ESPNU or ESPN. ESPN will televise the semifinals and finals and ESPNU will pick up coverage of the first and second sessions, the quarterfinals and medal round. Fans also will have an opportunity to watch all six sessions of the championships online via ESPN3.

Ohio State boasts a pair of Buckeyes who earned Top 2 seeds in Nick Heflin and Logan Stieber. Heflin, a 197-pounder from Massillon, Ohio, earned the No. 1 seed after securing his first Big Ten title two weeks ago. A two-time All-American, Heflin is 24-1 on the season. Stieber, the No. 2 seed at 141 pounds and defending two-time national champion at 133 pounds, won his third consecutive Big Ten title at 141 pounds. On the season, Stieber, a native of Monroeville, Ohio, is 25-1 overall.

On a Winning Note
Ohio State concluded the regular season winning six of its last seven matches, including recording a 3-1 record for a third-place finish at the NWCA National Duals in Columbus Feb. 16-17. During this span, the Buckeyes outscored their opponents, 172-92, and scored 17 bonus point wins (four major decisions, six technical falls and seven falls) compared to their opponents 4 major decisions, two technical falls and one fall.

Most Dominant Standings
Redshirt-junior Logan Stieber is the second-most dominant wrestler in NCAA Division I, the NCAA announced March 13. Stieber, who averages 4.5833 points, trails leader David Taylor of Penn State (5.1071) by .5238 points. The Most Dominant Wrestler standings are calculated by adding the total number of points awarded through match results and dividing that number by the total number of matches wrestled. Points awarded per match are as follows: *Fall, forfeit, injury default or DQ = 6 points (-6 points for a loss) *Tech falls = 5 points (-5 points for a loss) * Major decision = 4 points (-4 points for a loss) *Decision = 3 points (-3 points for a loss)

Stieber leads Division I wrestling in technical falls with 10. The Monroeville, Ohio, native has totaled 49:55 minutes of technical fall time.

Climbing the Record Books
Logan Stieber, a redshirt junior from Monroeville, Ohio, currently is third place on Ohio State’s career winning percentage list (minimum 40 matches). Stieber’s .938 winning percentage (90-6) trails No.1 Mark Coleman (50-2; .962 in 1988) and No. 2 Rex Holman (69-3; .958 from 1992-93). Stieber passed Kevin Randleman (108-7-3; .928 from 1991-93).

Buckeyes in the NCAA Championships
In the 93-year history of Ohio State wrestling, the Buckeyes boast 80 All-America selections and 16 individual national champions, including recent two-time champion Logan Stieber. Stieber, a redshirt-junior from Monroeville, Ohio, joins an elite Buckeye club in Kevin Randleman, Tommy Rowlands and J Jaggers as the only Ohio State two-time champions.

Ohio State’s best performances as a team at the NCAA championships were back-to-back runner-up finishes in 2008 and 2009. Backed by three finalists and two national champions in J Jaggers (141 pounds) and Mike Pucillo (184 pounds), the Buckeyes earned their highest placing at nationals in program history in 2008. J.D. Bergman was the heavyweight runner-up.

In 2009, the Scarlet and Gray were 4.5 points short of winning the title, as Iowa edged Ohio State 96.5-92. Jaggers became Ohio State’s first two-time titlist since Tommy Rowlands in 2002 and 2004 and third overall (Kevin Randleman in 1992 and 1993). Reece Humphrey and Mike Pucillo were the 133 and 184-pound runners-up, respectively.

Last Time Out – 2014 Big Ten Championships
Nick Heflin and Logan Stieber joined elite Buckeye company March 9 after winning Big Ten championships in their respective weight classes at the Kohl Center in Madison, Wis. Heflin, a senior 197-pounder from Massillon, Ohio, captured his first conference title and Stieber, a redshirt-junior 141-pounder from Monroeville, Ohio, became just the second Buckeye to win three league championships. Stieber joins Kevin Randleman (1991-93) in that category.

In addition to Heflin and Stieber, a contingent of other Buckeyes automatically qualified for the NCAA championships following their performances Sunday. Redshirt-sophomore and sixth-seed Kenny Courts finished fifth in the 184-pound bracket. Redshirt-freshman 125-pounder Nick Roberts and redshirt-sophomore 133-pounder Johnni DiJulius were sixth-place finishers. With his seventh-place finish, sophomore 174-pounder Mark Martin earned an automatic spot, as did redshirt-freshman and heavyweight Nick Tavanello with his eighth-place finish.