May 29, 2019

Ohio State Heads to Indianapolis for NCAA Championships



Follow the Buckeyes on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram

2019 Schedule | 2018-19 Roster | 2019 Boat Records

NCAA Rowing Championships

Championships Website| Heat/Lane Assignments| Schedule of Events


COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Ohio State rowing team is set to make its 20th consecutive appearance at the NCAA Championships this weekend in Indianapolis, Ind. The championships will be held Friday, May 31 through Sunday, June 2 at the Indianapolis Rowing Center at Eagle Creek Park and will be hosted by Indiana University, Bloomington and the Indiana SportsCorp.

The Buckeyes are one of six Big Ten teams that will compete at this year’s national championships and join 21 other teams in the quest for a national title.

The First Varsity Four is the highest seeded Buckeye boat, entering the event seeded No. 4. The boat will race in the fourth heat on Friday in Lane 3. The 1V4 is 9-7 overall and 3-5 in races leading up to the NCAA Championships. In its last outing, the boat finished first at Big Ten Championships to defend its conference title.

The Second Varsity Eight is seeded seventh and will race on Friday in Lane 4 of the second heat. The 2V8 is also 9-7 overall this season and is coming off a second-place finish at the Big Ten Championships.

The First Varsity Eight comes into the championships as a No. 8 seed, racing in the first heat in Lane 4 on Friday. The boat is 12-5 overall this season and earned a silver medal with its second-place finish at the Big Ten Championships.



Ohio State’s 20th appearance at the NCAA Championships is the seventh-most in the championship’s history. The Buckeyes are one of seven Division I teams who have been crowned champions at the event. Ohio State has three national titles, winning the NCAA Championships in 2013, 2014 and 2015. The Buckeyes own 18 top-10 finishes after a sixth-place finish at the 2018 championships.

The team owns seven individual national titles, tied for the fourth-most in NCAA rowing history. The First Varsity Four won the first NCAA title in program history in 2012 and was also a winner in 2013. The Second Varsity Eight won back-to-back championships in 2013 and 2014, while the First Varsity Eight won three consecutive national championships from 2014-16.

Last year, the First Varsity Four earned the team’s highest finish with a third-place finish. The First Varsity Eight finished sixth overall and the Second Varsity Eight finished eighth.




Fans are encouraged to follow @OhioStateWROW on Twitter for live results throughout the championship weekend. Results and a webcast of all races can be found on the NCAA website.

Each boat division is comprised of four heats on Friday morning. The top-two boats from each heat Friday morning will automatically advance to Saturday’s A/B semifinal. The remaining boats will re-adjourn Friday afternoon for second-chance races known as repechages to seed boats for Saturday’s semifinals. Saturday will consist of two A/B semifinals and two C/D semifinals. After the conclusion of those races, boats will be slotted in one of four finals (D final, C final, Petite final and Grand final). From the A/B semifinal heats, three crews advance to the Grand Final, with the remainder competing in the Petite Final. The top-three crews from C/D semifinals advance to the C final, with the remainder slotted in the D final.