May 27, 2004

Columbus, Ohio – The Ohio State rowing team garnered six all-central region accolades following its second consecutive central region championship title. Four Buckeyes were named to the all-region first team and one two the second team, the Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association announced Wednesday. Ohio State head coach Andy Teitelbaum was named the Central Region Coach of the Year Award for the third consecutive season.

Seniors Tatiana Grigorieva (Moscow, Russia) and Ashley Orr (Dublin, Ohio), junior Diana Albrecht (Dresden, Germany) and freshman Annabelle Fago (Glessen, Germany) were named to the 2003 First Team All-Central Region. Senior Susi Wesenburg (Rostock, Germany) was named to the second team.

The first team accolades mark the first for Grigorieva, Orr, Albrecht and Fago. Grigorieva received Second Team All-Central Region honors in 2002. Wesenburg was a second team all-region honoree in 2001.

Earlier this season, Grigorieva, Orr, Albrecht and Wesenburg received All-Big Ten honors. Fago was named the 2004 Big Ten Freshman of the Year following the Big Ten championships.

All-Region awards are designed to recognize the outstanding accomplishments of rowers and coxswains during the season. The nomination criteria include meeting eligibility rules and participating in at least 75 percent of season’s races in the varsity boat.

Teitelbaum was named All-Central region coach of the Year in 2002 and 2003. Teitelbaum has complied a 259-115 first varsity eight record in nine seasons at Ohio State. This season, Teitelbaum has guided the first varsity eight, which was ranked first in the nation five consecutive weeks, to a first place finish at the central region championships and a second place finish at the Big Ten championships. Albrecht and Wesenburg were named 2004 Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association National Scholar-Athletes. The award recognizes the outstanding academic accomplishments of female rowers and coxswain. Student-athletes qualify for the award by holding at least a 3.5 grade point average and having competed in at least 75 percent of the team’s first varsity eight races.

2004 All-Central Region Teams

First Team Tatiana Grigorieva Ohio State Diana Albrecht Ohio State Annabelle Fago Ohio State Leah Ketcheson Michigan Heather Mandoli Michigan Kari Harmon Wisconsin Julie Quoss Wisconsin Stacey Hicks Michigan State Natalie Ladine Notre Dame Melissa Roche Minnesota Megan Manijak Iowa Ashley Orr (coxswain) Ohio State

Second Team Susi Wesenburg Ohio State Katie Reynolds Michigan Crystal Culp Michigan Nicki Lennart Wisconsin Katie Isaacs Michigan State Alice Bartek Notre Dame Tara Medina (coxswain) Michigan