Feb. 8, 2013

Every Friday, features one of the many Ohio State social media accounts to follow. The Ohio State men’s golf team opens the 2013 spring season at the fifth-annual Big Ten Match Play Championship and is today’s FF: OhioState_MGOLF

The fifth-annual Big Ten Match Play Championship will feature all 12 Big Ten schools. The tournament was created to imitate the NCAA Championships match play setup. The teams will travel six players and choose a five-player lineup for each match.

The teams are seeded as follows: Illinois (1), Northwestern (2), Iowa (3), Indiana (4), Ohio State (5), Purdue (6), Michigan State (7), Minnesota (8), Michigan (9), Penn State (10), Nebraska (11) and Wisconsin (12).

Highlighting the lineup for the Buckeyes is senior Matt Turner and sophomores Boo Timko and Grant Weaver. Turner finished with a 1-1-1 record in last year’s championship, while Timko and Weaver each went 1-2. Joining them are three freshmen in Tee-k Kelly, Michael Bernard and Max Rosenthal. Kelly competed in all five fall tournaments for Ohio State, while Bernard and Rosenthal played in four each.  

Competition began Friday morning and runs through Saturday afternoon. Follow live stats by clicking here.

For more men’s golf on Twitter, check out the following accounts:
Donnie Darr, head coach
Ryan Potter, assistant coach