February 26, 2022

Ohio State Finishes Second at 2022 Big Ten Championships


Related Links: Complete Results | Men’s Roster


COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Ohio State men’s swimming and diving team took runner-up honors at the 2022 Big Ten Championships, which were being held at the Morgan J. Burke Aquatic Center on the campus of Purdue University.

“I could not be more proud of our young men,” Bill Dorenkott, Ohio State director of swimming and diving, said. “They fought their tails off for three and a half days for Ohio State. Obviously, we are disappointed as second place stings a little bit. That being said, a tip of the cap to IU for bringing out the best in us. We are building momentum in Columbus, Ohio. We will take a large and strong contingent to NCAA’s in March and expect to keep the ball rolling.”

Indiana won the championship with 1,499.5 points. The Hoosiers and Buckeyes were separated by just 30 points entering Saturday, but the Hoosiers used a strong final day with 11 championship heat swims, compared to five for the Buckeyes, to take the crown. Ohio State finished with 1,406.5 points and the rest of the Top 5 was Michigan (1,056.5 points), Wisconsin (869.5) and Purdue (821).

The Top 3 finish by the Buckeyes represents the 13th consecutive year for one of the top three places at this Big Ten men’s championships.

Ohio State swimmers had an impressive haul of championship finishes. Hunter Armstrong led the way with two individual titles, in the 50 freestyle and the 100 freestyle. Charlie Clark won the 1,650 freestyle and freshman Alex Quach swam to victory in the 100 butterfly.

Ohio State relays were outstanding. The team of Armstrong, Hudson McDaniel, Quach and Sem Andreis won the 200 medley relay on Wednesday. The team of Armstrong, Andreis, Quach and Ruslan Gaziev won the 200 free relay on Friday. The same squad closed out the championship meet with a title in the 400 free relay.

Armstrong, Clark, McDaniel, Quach, Andreis and Gaziev all earned First Team All-Big Ten honors following the meet.

Saturday Finals … 1,650 Freestyle

Two Buckeyes were in the final of four heats of the 1,650 freestyle with Charlie Clark starting the evening off in fine fashion for Ohio State by winning in an NCAA A cut and Ohio State school record of 14:36.02. Fabio Dalu finished in fifth-place with a time of 14:51.41 and Jonathan Edwards was 13th in 15:12.68.  Clark’s win is the team’s first in the event since 2010.

200 Backstroke

Thomas Watkins was the Buckeyes’ lone competitor in the evening races while three Hoosiers made the A finals. Watkins finished 11th in 1:43.72 and Indiana was able to extend its 11-point lead after the 1,650 to 83 points.

 100 Freestyle

The Buckeyes cut right back into the Hoosiers’ lead as Hunter Armstrong, Ruslan Gaziev and Sem Andreis went one-two-three in the 100 freestyle to get back to within 56 points of the lead. Armstrong swam an NCAA A time and Buckeye record time of 41.54 in the prelims and then went 41.78 for the win with Gaziev getting second in 42.07 and Andreis, the 2021 Big Ten 100 freestyle champion, third in 42.17. James Ward won the B final with a time of 43.29.

 200 Breaststroke

Hudson McDaniel qualified for the consolation finals and finished 16th in 1:58.52 while Pete Krusinski swam in the C final and was 18th in 1:58.48.

200 Butterfly

Ohio State had two swimmers in the championship final: Alex Quach took third in 1:41.81 and Chachi Gustafson was seventh in 1:43.01. JP Khouzam made the B final and placed 16th in 1:46.20.

Platform Dive

All eight Buckeye divers who competed on the 10-meter platform earned points for the Buckeyes. Leading the way was Jacob Fielding with a final score of 431.15 in the A final. Jacob Siler (424.10) and Clay Chaplin (395.75) took sixth and eighth-place respectively. Lyle Yost won the consolation final with a score of 383.50. Hunter Grannum (314.75) and Mike Parker (280.30) rounded out the Buckeyes in the finals in 13th and 15th overall.

 400 Freestyle Relay

The team of Hunter Armstrong, Sem Andreis, Alex Quach and Ruslan Gaziev closed out the meet with a Big Ten and Ohio State record time of 2:47.16 to win the event. The title is the Buckeyes’ first since the 2011 season, ending Indiana’s six-year streak.

2022 Big Ten Men’s Swimming and Diving Championships Results

Saturday, Feb. 26 | Morgan J. Burke Aquatic Center; West Lafayette, Ind.

All Ohio State point scorers listed

1,650 Freestyle – 1. Charles Clark, 14:36.02 (NCAA A); 5. Fabio Dalu, 14:51.41; 13. Jonathan Edwards, 15:12.68

 200 Backstroke – 11. Thomas Watkins, 1:43.72

100 Freestyle – 1. Hunter Armstrong, 41.78; 2. Ruslan Gaziev, 42.07; 3. Sem Andreis, 42.17; 9. James Ward, 43.29

 200 Breaststroke – 16. Hudson McDaniel, 1:58.52; 18. Pete Krusinski 1:58.48

200 Butterfly – 3. Alex Quach, 1:41.81; 7. Chachi Gustafson, 1:43.01; 16. JP Khouzam, 1:46.20

 Platform Diving – 4. Jacob Fielding, 431.15; 6. Jacob Siler, 424.10; 8. Clay Chaplin, 395.750; 9. Lyle Yost, 383.50; 13. Hunter Grannum, 314.75; 15. Mike Parker, 280.30

 400 Free Relay – 1. Armstrong, Andreis, Quach, Gaziev, 2:47.16

#Big Ten championships and Ohio State school record


Final Team Scores

  1. Indiana – 1,499.5
  2. Ohio State – 1,406.5
  3. Michigan – 1056.5
  4. Wisconsin – 869.5
  5. Purdue – 821
  6. Northwestern – 796
  7. Minnesota – 637
  8. Penn State – 626