COLUMBUS, Ohio – The 14th–ranked Buckeye rowing team concluded action at the Aramark South/Central Region Sprints in Oak Ridge, Tenn., Sunday. Ohio State came in fourth with 360 points. Wisconsin went on to win the Central Region with 405 points, while Michigan State and Michigan were second and third with 387 and 386 points, respectively.

The 2010 NCAA Division 1 Women’s Rowing selection show will air via webcast on at 5 p.m. May 18. The Buckeyes will hope to be one of 16 teams chosen to complete the field that will compete in Sacramento Calif. May 28-30.

First Varsity Eight
The boat of Claudia Herpertz, Carolin Helmholz, Ingrid Aasaaren, Ulrike Denker, Erin Shropshire, Sara Wallace, Lindsey Titus, Charlott Goldstein and Kristin DiJosie rowed to a first-place finish in the Petite Final in 6:40.20 ahead of Louisville (6:41.72), Iowa (6:42.32), Notre Dame (6:44.52), Minnesota (6:47.36) and Oklahoma (6:54.94).

Second Varsity Eight
The Ohio State boat of Jill Mohr, Tess Prescott, Emily Walsh, Emily Ralph, Mandy Merritt, Caroline McPherson, Anniken Ellingsen, Katie Flarida and Erika Benford finished third in the Grand Final with a time of 6:41.20, while Virginia (6:38.00) and Wisconsin (6:40.04) rowed to a first and second place finish, respectively. Michigan timed in fourth in 6:41.84 and Clemson and Tennessee came in fifth and sixth in 6:48.24 and 6:50.78.

First Varsity Four
The Buckeye boat of Stephanie Johnson, Ellen Heister, Claudia Schiwy, Farrah Edwards and Samantha Getz timed in at 7:35:13 for a second place finish in the Petite Final. The Scarlet and Gray finished ahead of Notre Dame (7:35.33), Central Florida (7:41.93), Texas (7:45.39) and Tennessee (7:52.04). Minnesota clocked in first with a time of 7:33.10.

Second (Open) Varsity Four
Ashley Dzurnak, Kate Sweeney, Katie Coons, Kara Shropshire and MacKenzie Pecor crossed the finish line in 7:42.16 ahead of Wisconsin (7:42.65) and Virginia’s  “C” team (7:44.30) for a fourth place finish in the Grand Final. The Virginia “B” crew clocked in first in 7:32.20, while the Cavalier “A” squad took second in 7:36.42. Clemson finished third in 7:39.06.

First Novice Eight
The Scarlet and Gray boat of Colleen Krawjewski, Caroline Farrar, Samantha Fowle, Allison Elber, Leslie Weist, Sarah Brad, Elizabeth Trentman, Katherine Tylinski and Kyrsten French timed in third in the Grand Final in 6:55.50. Wisconsin (6:44.38) and Virginia (6:44.44) sounded the horn first and second, respectively. Michigan (6:58.28), Michigan State (7:00.52) and Notre Dame (7:00.76) came in fourth, fifth and sixth, respectively.