Final Results

Feb. 23, 2013

Photo Gallery 

GENEVA, Ohio – The Ohio State women’s track and field team closed with a strong finish on day two of the 2013 Big Ten Indoor Championships to place fifth overall with 66 points. No. 15 Illinois won the conference title with 115 points. Nebraska was the runner-up with 112.

Aisha Cavin was the star of the meet for the Buckeyes, earning silver and bronze medals in the 400m and 200m, respectively, and anchoring the 4x400m relay team to a bronze-medal finish. In all, the sophomore contributed a total of 20 points to the final team score. As a collective unit, Ohio State enjoyed balanced scoring from a variety of event areas, including sprints, middle distance and throws.

Here’s a complete recap of the final day of competition at SPIRE Institute for Ohio State:

Ohio State finished 3-4-5 in the event for a total of 14 points. Adenike Pedro captured the bronze medal in a personal-best time of 7.44, while Ashlee Abraham (7.46) and Christienne Linton (7.47) finished fourth and fifth, respectively. Morolake Akinosun of Illinois was the first-place finisher in a facility-record time of 7.32.

60m Hurdles
Ohio State’s three finalists collected six points for the team. Linton placed sixth in a season-best time of 8.45 and was followed in order by Alexis Franklin (PR of 8.50) and Alexandria Johnson (8.66). Breeana Coleman of Illinois won the race in 8.20 seconds. 

Cavin placed third and earned six points in a personal-best time of 23.53, the third-best time in OSU indoor history and 15th in Division I this season. Ashley Spencer of Illinois crossed the finish line with the winning time, 23.30.

Cavin ran a personal-best time of 53.84 – sixth fastest in school history and a top-25 performance nationally – but it was not enough to overcome Spencer’s meet-record time of 52.17. Johnson turned in a sixth-place time of 54.74 to bring the Buckeyes’ point total in the event to 11.

Sophomore Janel Olberding’s PR of 1:30.14 – the third-best 600m time in school history – vaulted her to a win in her heat and a fourth-place finish overall. Alysson Bodenbach of Illinois won the event in 1:29.45.

Sophomore Katie Borchers bettered her own school record for the second day in the row to finish sixth overall in 2:06.95. The sophomore’s time provided two points toward the team score and ranks among the Top in Division I this season. Purdue’s Vanessa McLeod topped the field in a time of 2:05.21.

Weight Throw
A personal-best throw of 21.13m (69-4.00) helped senior Alexis Thomas to a fourth-place  finish and five team points – the mark stands as the third-best in school history and ranks among the Top 15 in Division I this season. Michigan State’ Beth Rohl won the gold medal at 22.17m (72-8.75), a facility record.

Triple Jump
Sophomore Abie Ehimwenman just missed scoring with a ninth-place jump of 12.21m (40-0.75). Nebraska’s Mara Griva claimed the conference title with a facility-record mark of (13.09m/42-11.75).

4x400m Relay
The foursome of Cavin, Johnson, SoSo Walker and Cheyenne Hoerr completed its race in a time of 3:40.89 to earn six points. Illinois captured first place in a Big Ten-record time of 3:33.30.

Final Team Standings
1) No. 15 Illinois, 115 points
2) Nebraska, 112 points
3) No. 20 Michigan, 89
4) Penn State, 73
5) Ohio State, 66
6) Michigan State, 57
7) Minnesota, 56
8) Wisconsin, 54
9) Purdue, 36
10) Indiana, 33
11) Iowa, 11