COLUMBUS, Ohio – The five-time defending Big Ten regular-season and tournament champion Ohio State men’s tennis team rounded out 2010 after the two remaining Buckeyes were knocked out of the NCAA Singles and Doubles Championships Friday at the Dan Magill Tennis Complex in Athens, Ga. The Buckeyes advanced a player to the singles Round of 16 for the fourth-consecutive season, while placing a doubles tandem in the Round of 16 for the third straight year.

In singles, sophomore Chase Buchanan, a native of New Albany, Ohio, lost 6-2, 7-6 (3) to 11th-ranked Michael Shabaz of Virginia. Buchanan finishes a remarkable second campaign as a Buckeye, going 31-6 overall with a 24-2 mark at the top of the lineup. Against nationally-ranked opponents, Buchanan rounded out the year with a 20-6 record. He finished the season winning 22 of his last 24 matches.

In doubles, Buchanan, paired with freshman Dino Marcan as the ninth-ranked duo in the country, was upset by No. 21 Ian Atkinson and Steven Forman of Wake Forest in a three set 6-4, 5-7, 6-2 match. The Buckeyes battled from behind to take a second-set victory after breaking the Demon Deacons in the final game, 7-5, but failed to win the third set. They finish the year with a 21-4 overall record, winning 12 matches this season against nationally-ranked opponents.

In NCAA action, under 11th-year head coach Ty Tucker, the Buckeyes have compiled a 25-11 record. This season, Ohio State advanced to the quarterfinals of the team championship for the fifth straight year before losing, 4-0, to No. 5 and eventual national champion USC May 23 in a rematch of the 2009 national final. Tucker has now coached 14 singles and eight doubles NCAA championships participants. Under the helm of Tucker, Ohio State has been to 11-consecutive NCAA tournaments.

2010 NCAA Division I Men’s Tennis Singles and Doubles Championships
Dan Magill Tennis Complex
Athens, Ga.
May 28, 2010

Tennis Match Final Results
Round of 16
No. 11 Michael Shabaz (9-16) (Virginia) def. No. 8 Chase Buchanan (7) (OSU) – 6-2, 7-6 (3)

Round of 16
No. 21 Iain Atkinson/Steven Forman (Wake Forest) def. No. 9 Chase Buchanan/Dino Marcan (OSU) – 6-4, 5-7, 6-2

*Rankings from latest Campbell/ITA Division I College Tennis Rankings Announced May 3