Oct. 7, 2016

Box Score

Box Score

Madison, Wisc.— Ohio State (2-1-0, 0-1-1 WCHA) opened conference play Friday night with a 3-0 loss to No. 1 Wisconsin (3-0-0, 3-0-0 WCHA).

The Buckeyes allowed a goal in each period, with each score coming when the Badgers had either a breakaway or odd man rush. Leading the way for OSU were Jessica Dunne and Rebecca Freiburger with three shots on the offensive end. Dunne also led all players with five blocked shots; Lauren Boyle and Katie Matheny each blocked multiple shots as well.

Period one was controlled fairly well by the Badgers. In addition to taking a 1-0 lead after 20 minutes, Wisconsin outshot Ohio State 19-6, testing Kassidy Sauve several times. The redshirt sophomore proved up to the task though, making 18 stops and allowing the lone goal on a two-on-one situation. The Badgers applied constant pressure during the first 20 minutes; the puck rarely left the Ohio State zone. The fact that just one goal found the back of the net is a testament to the play of Sauve and the defense’s ability to minimize the consistent pressure from UW.

The second period proved slightly better than the first for Ohio State. Though Wisconsin would get on the board again to go up 2-0, the Buckeyes were able to close the gap in shots on goal a bit and generate more quality offensive chance than they had in the first period. The Badger goal came from Emily Clark, her second of the game; after weaving through the defense she fired a shot top shelf that found the back of the net.

Wisconsin would strike quickly in the third period. Jenny Ryan notched a breakaway goal to put her team up 3-0; after finding herself all alone coming out of the penalty box she used a few moves that ended with a backhanded shot into the net to extend her team’s lead. In that third period Wisconsin outshot Ohio State 15-2, the largest single-period shot differential of the night.

Ohio State will look to bounce back tomorrow afternoon in game two against Wisconsin. Puck drop is slated for 2:07 ET and, once again, the game will be streamed on BTN2go (subscription required).