COLUMBUS, Ohio The Ohio State fencing team finished competition at the Garret Open this past Saturday and Sunday with an impressive performance against many of the nation’s elite programs. Hosted by Penn State, the Garret Open is an individual tournament rather than a dual meet and featured 10 of the Top 15 schools from the 2006-07 NCAA Championships.

Out of six events, the Buckeyes won four, including men’s foil, men’s sabre, women’s sabre and women’s foil. The women’s sabre team of Siobhan Byrne, Eileen Grench and Falencia Miller excelled, placing three inside the Top 4 and witnessed Byrne out-duel Grench to take the title.

In men’s sabre, junior Mikhail Momtselidze took first place by defeating Daniel Bak of host Penn State. Teammate Sergey Smirnov captured a fifth place finish while Dexter Wilde finished 13th.

Reigning foil national champion Andras Horanyi continued to have success, winning men’s foil by defeating Notre Dame freshman Zach Schirtz. Lindsay Knauer, who missed her freshman season due to injury, won women’s foil while teammate Julia Tichonova finished sixth. In winning, Knauer finished above Adi Nott of Notre Dame, who was third at last season’s NCAA Championship.

Aleksandra Obrazcova finished third in women’s epee, while fifth-year senior Kaela Brendler took seventh in only her second event since March of 2006. The men’s side had three Top 10 finishers with Mykhaylo Mazur placing seventh, Jason Pryor finishing ninth and Alexander Delaney coming in 10th.

Following a brief hiatus, the Buckeyes will be back in action Dec. 7-9 at the Division I North American Cup in Richmond, Va.

Buckeyes at the Garret Open
 Women’s Sabre
1. Siobhan Byrne
2. Eileen Grench
4. Falencia Miller

Men’s Sabre
1. Mikhail Momtselidze
5. Sergey Smirnov
13. Dexter Wilde
17. Robert Douville
27. Tom Grant

Women’s Foil
1. Lindsay Knauer
6. Julia Tichonova
10. Sarah Smith
11. Holly McKibben

Men’s Foil
1. Andras Horanyi
19. Will Jeter
27. Joe Streb
29. Joe Doherty
38. Daniel Bass

Women’s Epee
3. Aleksandra Obrazcova
7. Kaela Brendler
20. Leslie Lampman
28. Elyse Gurnowski

Men’s Epee
7. Mykhaylo Mazur
9. Jason Pryor
10. Alex Delaney
14. Avinosh Somir

### ###