May 20, 1999

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Five Ohio State baseball players were named first-team all-Big Ten today, including Big Ten Pitcher of the Year Justin Fry. OSU skipper Bob Todd was also named the Big Ten Coach of the Year. Joining Fry on the first-team all-Big Ten squad were Chad Ehrnsberger, Mike Lockwood, Tom Durant, and E.J. Laratta, who was also named the Big Ten Freshman of the Year.

Ohio States Jason Trott, Andy Lee, and Cory Cox were each named second-team all-Big Ten. Trent McIlvain was a third-team all-conference selection.

It marks the second time that Fry has been honored as Big Ten Pitcher of the Year. He also won the award in 1997. Head coach Bob Todd has now earned Big Ten Coach of the Year honors on three occasions (1989, 1994, 1999).

Lockwood is making his second consecutive appearance on the Big Tens first-team. Durant, Ehrnsberger, and Laratta are all making their first appearances. In addition to this season, Fry was named first-team all-conference in 1997.

Trott, the Big Ten batting champion, has now earned second-team all-Big Ten honors for three straight seasons. Lee, Cox, and McIlvain each collected their first-ever all-league accolades.

Ohio State, the 1999 Big Ten regular season champion, had more first-team selections than any other school. Minnesota was second with three.

-Go Bucks!-