April 20, 2014

Photo Gallery 


COLUMBUS, Ohio – The No. 28 Ohio State women’s golf team captured its 15th Lady Buckeye Invitational title on Sunday with a tournament score of 28-over (892), clearing the field by eight strokes over second place finishers No. 24 Michigan State and No. 40 Kent State (both 36-over, 900). This year marked the 34th edition of the event dating back to the inaugural event back in 1975. Ohio State’s 291 in the final round was the lowest score of the entire tournament.

Four Buckeyes placed in the top-10, led by freshmen Jessica Porvasnik and Katja Pogacar tying for third at 4-over 220. Porvasnik carded rounds of 73-76-71 while Pogacar posted scores of 75-75-70 to earn her first career top-5 finish. Her previous high was sixth place at the Diane Thompson Invitational in October. The Buckeye pair came up just two shots back from medalist Jennifer Ha of Kent State.

Junior Claudia Lim was Ohio State’s next best performer, grabbing a share of sixth place at 11-over (227). She saved her best round for last, carding a 74 on Sunday after a 78-75 showing on Day One.

Zoe-Beth Brake made it three OSU freshmen in the top-10, bookending a round-two 74 with 77s in her first and second go-arounds. The 12-over 228 put her in a tie for 10th place.

Next on the list was senior Allison Harper who made the splash of the day. The senior and Upper Arlington native playing in her final regular season tournament dropped in an ace on the par-3 13th with a 7-iron from 160 yards out. It came on the same day that Frederik Hammer from the Ohio State men’s team connected on a hole-in-one as well, competing in the Boilermaker Invitational. For the weekend, Harper placed t-13th with a total tally of 229 (78-75-75, +13), contributing to the team score in each round.

Junior Jan Chanpalangsri provided a 74 to the squad in round two, sandwiched between marks of 82 and 83. Her 23-over 239 positioned her t-48th. Fellow junior Sheridan Balyeat played as an individual and registered a 25-over 241 (83-81-77) to place t-55th.   Ohio State won this tournament as recently as two years ago, seizing the 2012 crown thanks in large part to medalist Rachel Rohanna.

On deck for The Scarlet and Gray is postseason play, beginning with the Big Ten Championships April 25-27 in French Link, Ind.