Nov. 3, 2006

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Ohio State cheerleaders have qualified for the 2007 College Cheerleading and Dance Team National Championship at the Walt Disney World Resort, Jan. 12-14, 2007. The national championship will be held at Disney’s MGM Studios and Disney’s Wide World of Sports Complex in Orlando, Fla.

Ohio State qualified for the national championship by winning the Northeast Region for the 18th time in the last 20 years.

“We work very hard to put an entry together and the team is deserving of its regional win,” Judy Bunting, head cheerleading coach, said. “We look forward to the national championship in January and we will have to continue to work hard to develop our routine and execute it well at nationals against some very stiff competition. I think our tumbling is definitely stronger this year and we still are very strong in partner stunting and pyramids.”

By winning their region, the Buckeyes received an automatic bid to the national competition, as well as free transportation and hotel accommodations. Ohio State joins Minnesota (Mid-America Region), Kentucky (South Region) and Hawaii (West Region) as regional champions. The other teams from the Northeast Region to advance to the national championship competition are Cincinnati, Penn State, Ohio and Syracuse.

Ohio State finished 12th at the 2006 national championship. The Buckeyes were sixth in 2005 after placing 15th in 2004, seventh in 2003 and sixth in 2002. The Buckeyes earned a second-place finish in 2001 and placed sixth in 2000. Ohio State won the 1993 College Cheerleading National Championship.

Additionally, four Buckeye cheerleaders qualified for the Coed Partner Stunt competition the same weekend. The teams of Tara Warrens and Ben Schreiber and Ally Taulbee and Stephen Garrett will represent Ohio State. The national competition will be televised by the ESPN networks and aired at a later date.

2006 Northeast Region Results 1. Ohio State 2. Cincinnati 3. Penn State 4. Ohio 5. Syracuse


Regional Winners/Automatic Bids
Mid-America Region: Minnesota; South Region: Kentucky; Northeast Regional: Ohio State; West Region: Hawaii.

Division IA Teams Also Receiving Invitations/At-Large Bids:
Alabama, Arizona State, Central Florida, Central Michigan, Cincinnati, Kansas, LSU, Memphis, Michigan State, Mississippi State, Ohio, Oklahoma, Penn State, Syracuse, Tennessee, Texas and Wisconsin.