July 10, 2018

Ohio State Boasts All-Time Record 129 B1G Distinguished Scholars in 2017-18


COLUMBUS, Ohio – Ohio State Athletics paces the Big Ten Conference in number of student-athletes earning B1G Distinguished Scholar recognition for the third straight year as 129 Buckeyes did so for the 2017-18 academic year.

Complete list of B1G Distinguished Scholars

Big Ten Faculty Representatives established the Distinguished Scholar Award in 2008 to supplement the Academic All-Big Ten program. Distinguished Scholar Award recipients must be a recipient of Academic All-Big Ten Recognition in the previous academic year, must have been enrolled fulltime at the institution for the entire previous academic year (two semesters or three quarters) and earned a minimum GPA of 3.70 or better during the previous academic year, excluding any summer grades. The Academic All-Big Ten threshold is a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher for a student’s academic career.

Twenty-one Buckeyes posted flawless 4.0 grade-point averages during 2017-18:
Joshua Black, rifle (Biology)
Kate Deaton, women’s track & field (Agriscience Education)
Kat Duvall, softball (Language Arts Education)
Rachel Engle, rowing (Communication)
Anjali Fernandes, rowing (English)
Cole Gorski, men’s track & field (Marketing)
Hanna Gottschalk, rowing (Health Sciences)
Erin Gyurke, women’s cross country (Early Childhood Education)
Justin Hopkins, men’s swimming & diving (Chemical Engineering)
Aleksandra Kolmykova, fencing (Economics)
Gabriella Leccese, fencing (History)
Stephanie Mavunga, women’s basketball (masters of Sport Coaching)
Reed McGraw, men’s swimming & diving (Biomedical Engineering)
Cheyenne Meek, women’s swimming & diving (Public Policy and Management)
Kelsey Nolan, field hockey (Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages)
Spencer Sansom, softball (Physical Education, Sports & Physical Activity)
Olivia Smith, women’s cross country (Logistics Management)
Lauren Spring, women’s ice hockey (Physical Education, Sports & Physical Activity)
Nicolas Szerszen, men’s volleyball (Mechanical Engineering)
Nathan Tomasello, wrestling (Kinesiology)
Selina Vickey, women’s soccer (Neuroscience)