COLUMBUS, Ohio Tough early season tournaments and a trip to Ann Arbor to play Michigan highlight a challenging 2008 schedule for the Ohio State baseball team. And this year across the collegiate baseball landscape, there is a universal starting date for all teams of Feb. 22.

The season begins with three out-of-town tournaments. The Buckeyes first travel to Millington, Tenn. to play three games Feb. 22-24 (vs. Arkansas State, Memphis and Seton Hall) before heading to College Station, Tex. for a set of three games. The first game in Texas is against the Texas A&M Aggies, who eliminated Ohio State from last year’s NCAA Tournament. Louisiana Tech and Arkansas, which finished second in last year’s SEC tournament before winning two games in the NCAA Tournament, are the Buckeyes’ other opponents in College Station.

Coach Bob Todd’s 21st Ohio State baseball team then travels to West Palm Beach, Fla. for a tournament against Air Force, Maine and Connecticut and then will spring break in Bradenton, Fla., for a series of games that are still being confirmed.

Ohio State opens the home portion of its schedule March 26 against Pittsburgh. In addition to the Panthers, the Buckeyes will host Toledo, Central Michigan, Akron, Eastern Michigan, Marshall and Buffalo in non-conference action at Bill Davis Stadium.

Ohio State’s first Big Ten match-up is a weekend series at Bill Davis Stadium against Penn State March 28-30. The Buckeyes also host perennial Big Ten power Minnesota the weekend of Apr. 4-6, Purdue April 18-20 and Illinois April 9-11. Big Ten road series will take the team to Ann Arbor to face defending regular season conference champ Michigan for a series starting May 2. The Buckeyes also travel to Michigan State, Northwestern and Iowa this season. 

2008 Ohio State Baseball Schedule

Date     Opponent         Site                 Time
22 Fri.  Arkansas State   Millington, Tenn.     1:00 p.m.
23 Sat.  Memphis          Millington, Tenn.     4:00 p.m.
24 Sun.  Seton Hall       Millington, Tenn.    10:00 a.m.
29 Fri.  Texas A&M        College Station, Tex. 7:30 p.m.

 1 Sat.  Louisiana Tech   College Station, Tex. 1:30 p.m.
 2 Sun.  Arkansas         College Station, Tex. Noon
 7 Fri.  Air Force        West Palm Beach, Fla. 7 p.m.
 8 Sat.  Maine            West Palm Beach, Fla. TBA
 9 Sun.  Connecticut      West Palm Beach, Fla. Noon
15-21    Spring Trip      Bradenton, Fla.       TBA
26 Wed.  Pittsburgh       Columbus, Ohio        2:05 p.m.
28 Fri.  Penn State       Columbus, Ohio        6:35 p.m.
29 Sat.  Penn State#      Columbus, Ohio        1:05 p.m.
30 Sun.  Penn State       Columbus, Ohio        1:05 p.m.
 2 Wed.  Toledo           Columbus, Ohio        6:35 p.m.
 4 Fri.  Minnesota        Columbus, Ohio        6:35 p.m.
 5 Sat.  Minnesota#       Columbus, Ohio        1:05 p.m.
 6 Sun.  Minnesota        Columbus, Ohio        1:05 p.m.
 9 Wed.  Central Michigan Columbus, Ohio        6:35 p.m.

11 Fri.  at Michigan St.  East Lansing, Mich.   5:05 p.m.
12 Sat.  at Michigan St.# East Lansing, Mich.   1:05 p.m.
13 Sun.  at Michigan St.  East Lansing, Mich.   1:05 p.m.
16 Wed.  TBA              Columbus, Ohio        TBA
18 Fri.  Purdue           Columbus, Ohio        6:35 p.m.
19 Sat.  Purdue#          Columbus, Ohio        1:05 p.m.
20 Sun.  Purdue           Columbus, Ohio        1:05 p.m.
23 Wed.  Akron            Columbus, Ohio        6:35 p.m.

25 Fri.  at Northwestern  Evanston, Ill.        4 p.m.
26 Sat.  at Northwestern# Evanston, Ill.        2 p.m.
27 Sun.  at Northwestern  Evanston, Ill.        2 p.m.
30 Wed.  Eastern Michigan Columbus, Ohio        6:35 p.m.

 2 Fri.  at Michigan      Ann Arbor, Mich.      6:05 p.m.
 3 Sat.  at Michigan#     Ann Arbor, Mich.      4:05 p.m.
 4 Sun.  at Michigan      Ann Arbor, Mich.      1:05 p.m.
 7 Wed.  Marshall         Columbus, Ohio        6:35 p.m.
 9 Fri.  Illinois         Columbus, Ohio        6:35 p.m.
10 Sat.  Illinois#        Columbus, Ohio        1:05 p.m.
11 Sun.  Illinois         Columbus, Ohio        1:05 p.m.
13 Tue.  Buffalo          Columbus, Ohio        12:05 p.m.
15 Thu.  at Iowa          Iowa City, Iowa       7:05 p.m.
16 Fri.  at Iowa#         Iowa City, Iowa       2:05 p.m.
17 Sat.  at Iowa          Iowa City, Iowa       2:05 p.m.
21-25    Big Ten Tournament (at site of regular season champion)
All home games (in bold) will be contested at Bill Davis Stadium at Ohio State. All times listed as Eastern Standard Time. # Doubleheader

Schedule as of 11/16/07