Oct. 2, 2012

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Ohio State University Buckeyes and the TCU Horned Frogs have agreed on a home-and-home football series with games in 2018 at Fort Worth, Texas, and 2019 in Ohio Stadium.

“Competing against programs from the state of Texas has always offered exciting experiences for our players and fans,” Ohio State Director of Athletics Gene Smith said. “TCU continues to be one of the top football programs in the country.”

The Horned Frogs have more wins over the last 10 years – 97 – than all but four Football Bowl Subdivision teams. Only Boise State (109), LSU (102), USC (101) and Oklahoma (98) have more wins than TCU, which is in its first year as a member of the Big 12 Conference.

The two schools have played six times previously, but not since 1973. Ohio State holds a 4-1-1 edge in the series. All six meetings have been at Ohio Stadium. 

Ohio State vs. TCU
Sept. 25, 1937 – Ohio State 14, TCU 0 (OSU finishes 6-2 and 5-1 in the Big Ten)
Sept. 28, 1957 – TCU 18, Ohio State 14 (OSU regroups and wins national championship)
Sept. 30, 1961 – Ohio State 7, TCU 7 (OSU goes 8-0-1 and is named national champs by FWAA)
Sept 24, 1966 – Ohio State 14, TCU 7 (Buckeyes finish season 4-5)
Sept. 27, 1969 – Ohio State 62, TCU 0 (Ohio State’s 15th consec. win; streak would reach 22)
Sept 29, 1973 – Ohio State 37, TCU 3 (Buckeyes go 10-0-1 and beat USC in the Rose Bowl)

Under the direction of 12th-year coach Gary Patterson, TCU is 4-0 this year, ranked 15th by the Associated Press and is riding a nation’s best 12-game winning streak. This is the third time in four seasons that TCU has had a win streak of at least 12 games.

The 2018 game will be played Sept. 15 at TCU’s Amon G. Carter Stadium, where a $164 million rebuild has just been completed. TCU is 58-7 at home under Patterson.

The 2019 game will take place Sept. 21 at Ohio Stadium.