Aug. 31, 2014

Box Score


·         Follow the Buckeyes on Facebook and Twitter

·         Game Highlights

·         Photo Gallery

COLUMBUS, Ohio The Ohio State men’s soccer team battled back to claim a 2-2 draw against Butler Sunday afternoon in the final match of the 2014 Wolstein Soccer Classic at Jesse Owens Memorial Stadium. Down to 10 men, the Buckeyes (0-0-2) were able to fight their way back into the match scoring two second-half goals to earn their second draw of the early 2014 season.

Butler was named tournament champions of the ninth-annual Wolstein Soccer Classic with a 1-0-1 mark. Iris Wolstein and Ohio State head coach John Bluem presented the tournament trophy, which is named in honor of the family that first brought professional soccer to Ohio in 1979.

“At halftime, we made some good adjustments and it seemed to be working well until the red card changed things,” Bluem said. “It was just a crazy second-half with two red cards, four goals and a penalty kick. I am extremely proud of our team for scoring twice with a man down. We played with a lot of spirit and heart in the second half and we were able to find the energy to keep defending. Congratulations to Butler – they are a very good team.”

A red card was booked to junior midfielder Kyle Culbertson during the 64th minute of play. However, the Buckeyes continued to attack the Butler defense. With the scoreboard still scoreless, sophomore forward Danny Jensen fought his way into the box with possession and was fouled to set up an OSU penalty kick.  Liam Doyle scored the penalty kick for the Buckeyes during the 65th minute to give Ohio State a 1-0 lead when he buried the shot into the back left of goal. Senior midfielder Yianni Sarris added a second goal for the Scarlet and Gray when he rolled in a shot in front of net on an Ohio State corner kick – assist to senior Max Moller – in the 74th minute to tie the contest at 2-2.

The two teams went to 10-on-10 when Butler’s Vincent Mitchell picked up a red card at midfield during the 82nd minute. The Bulldogs scored back-to-back goals in the 65th and 73rd minutes, respectively, by Jeff Adkins and David Goldsmith.

Senior goalkeeper Alex Ivanov held strong for the Buckeyes in the overtime periods and collected six saves vs. the Bulldogs. He denied the Bulldogs a third goal when he reacted with his right hand on a strong header in front of net during the 70th minute. Overall, shots were 18-12 in favor of Butler, while the Bulldogs held an 8-6 advantage in corners.

The Scarlet and Gray had four shots, including three in the second overtime period, but couldn’t find a third goal, while Ivanov made two key stops in the final 20 minutes to end the contest in a draw. Doyle and sophomore Tyler Kidwell were each named to the 2014 Wolstein Soccer Classic All-Tournament Team.

The Buckeyes will now have five days off to rest for the 2014 UNC Wilmington Soccer Classic Sept. 5-7. The team opens the tournament against the Seahawks at 7:30 p.m. ET Friday before playing Elon in a neutral-site matchup at 2:30 p.m. ET Sunday.

2014 Wolstein Soccer Classic Tournament Champions



Jeff Adkins (Butler)

All-Tournament Team

Jeff Adkins (Butler)

Zach Steinberger (Butler)

Brandon Fricke (Butler)

David Goldsmith (Butler)

Kris Schultz (UC Davis)

Ramon Martin Del Campo (UC Davis)

Ryan Gross (UC Davis)

Tyler Kidwell (Ohio State)

Liam Doyle (Ohio State)

Asani Samuels (Canisius)

Nicolo Baudo (Canisius)