May 16, 2018

Nothdurft, Teitelbaum Receive B1G Honors


COLUMBUS, Ohio – Lexie Nothdurft, a member of Ohio State’s First Varsity Eight, has been named 2018 Big Ten Rowing Freshman of the Year, the conference announced Wednesday. Additionally, Andy Teitelbaum was named Big Ten Coach of the Year for the eighth time in his career, and for the second consecutive year.

Nothdurft, a native of Brisbane, Queensland, Australia, began the season with the Second Varsity Eight in a double dual against Yale and Harvard on March 24, earning two convincing wins. In the second regatta of the year, Nothdurft helped the First Varsity Eight to a sweep over Virginia and Clemson on March 31. The following week, the 1V8 was named Big Ten Co-Boat of the Week. The First Varsity Eight continued an undefeated streak throughout the rest of the season, finishing with a record of 31-1 overall and 9-1 in races. Nothdurft most recently helped the Buckeyes to a sweep of all seven races at the 2018 Big Ten Championships, claiming the ninth conference title in OSU history.

Nothdurft marks the fifth Freshman of the Year award for Ohio State, and the first since Sarah Davis in 2015.

Teitelbaum continues to lead the Ohio State women’s rowing program to unprecedented heights, guiding the team to its sixth conference championship in as many years. No other Big Ten school has won the conference title more than twice in a row. Teitelbaum garners his sixth Coach of the Year nod in the last eight seasons.

The No. 4 Ohio State rowing team will compete as the highest seeded Big Ten team at the NCAA Rowing Championships on May 25-27 in Sarasota, Fla.