May 13, 2022

No. 9 Buckeyes Head to Indy for Big Ten Regatta Sunday


2022 Big Ten Championships

Date: Sunday, May 15
Location: Eagle Creek Park, Indianapolis
Schedule: Big Ten Championships Event Schedule
Watch: BTN+($)
Live Results:  | Twitter: (@OhioStateWROW)

COLUMBUS, Ohio— The No. 9 Ohio State women’s rowing team is set for the 2022 Big Ten Championships Sunday at Eagle Creek Park in Indianapolis.

Seven Buckeye boats will take part, starting at 9 a.m. The championship will be live-streamed on B1G+($). Live results will be posted on and on the Ohio State Rowing Twitter account (@OhioStateWROW).

Ohio State is racing its sixth regatta of the season and fourth on the road. Ohio State finished second in three-of-four races the last time out at the Longhorn Invitational in Austin, Texas. Results from those races can be found HERE. The Buckeyes won four races at the Big Ten Invitational in Sarasota, Florida, April 15-16. For complete results from that event go HERE.

The Buckeyes won 15-of-16 races in the Ohio State Invitational at the Griggs Reservoir in the final home regatta of the season. Click HERE for complete results.

Ohio State played host to the Big Ten/ACC Regatta April 2 vs. Duke and Virginia. Click HERE for those results.  Ohio State traveled to Camden, N.J., in the season opener to face Princeton and Brown. For results from that event, go HERE.

This is the third season under the direction of head coach Kate Sweeney, who guided the Buckeyes to a sixth-place finish at the 2021 NCAA Championships and to a second-place finish at the Big Ten Championships last year. In all, Ohio State owns nine Big Ten championships and 48 individual boat titles.

The 2022 NCAA Championships are scheduled for May 27-29 in Sarasota, Florida.

During the offseason, six Buckeyes participated in the Tokyo Olympics. Three of those performers are rowing for the Buckeyes this season. Alessandra Montesano took the 2021 season off from collegiate competition to row for Italy at the Olympics. Incoming freshmen Maria and Anneta Kyridou rowed for Greece. For more on the Buckeyes at the Olympics, click HERE.

Also back for the 2022 Buckeyes are 2021 All-Americans Rachel DeWitte and Jessy Vermeer. The duo, along with the departed Leonie Heuer, were 2021 College Rowing Coaches Association Pocock All-America squad members a season ago.

The Ohio State Athletics Hall of Fame added another former Buckeye rower to its roster last fall when Amanda Purcell was inducted. The former walk-on rowed for Ohio State from 2003-05  and became a first team Pocock All-America as a senior. For more on her career and induction into the Athletics Hall of Fame, go HERE.

Ohio State held its annual Scholar Athlete banquet April 11. A total of 788 Buckeyes were honored with 73 coming from the rowing team. For more on the event, click HERE.

Next Up: NCAA Selection Show
The NCAA DI Rowing Selection Show will air Tuesday, May 17th at 5 p.m. on A link to the show will be on the front page of

Ohio State Lineups 

9 a.m. (2N8)

2N8 (Ohio State Lineup)
C: Ellie Bujwalo-Nowak
S: Maddie Reents
7-Mollly Hillman
6-Maggie Livingston
5-Kristen Hammond
4-Ava Fortney
3-Alex Gluntz
2-Morgan Miller
B: Erika Linton

9:20 a.m. (1N8)

1N8 (Ohio State Lineup)
C: Regan McElwee
S: Carlotta Wolff
7-Taylor Benedict
6-Leandra Hogrefe
5-Emma Hall
4-Jillian Johnson
3-Kira Katterle
2-Lydia Stute
B: Jenna Unkefer

9:40 a.m. (3V4)

3V4 (Ohio State Lineup)
S: Savannah Sellers
3-Katie Clouse
2-Svea Pichner
B: Amelie Sens
C: Mia Mulhearn

10 a.m. (2V4)

2V4 (Ohio State Lineup)
S: Noah Fletcher
3-Megan Murphy
2-Isabelle Huebener
B: Liz Paul
C: Kaitlin Pang

10:20 a.m. (1V4)

1V4 (Ohio State Lineup)
S: Alaina Hawthorn
3-Emma Wilson
2-Kristen Devolve
B: Jamie Harris
C: Charli Ulmer

10:40 (2V8)

2V8 (Ohio State Lineup)
C: Divya Batchu
S: Grace Pabst
7-Paige Wheeler
6-Natalie Chourova
5-Megan McNutt
4-Katelyn Bartos
3-Gabrielle Schmidt
2-Pau Koster
B: Morgan Zahner

11 a.m. (1V8)

1V8 (Ohio State Lineup)
C: Katie Hinton
S: Anneta Kyridou
7-Maria Kyridou
6-Lexie Nothdurft
5-Rachel DeWitte
4-Jessy Vermeer
3-Alessandra Montesano
2-Ollie Clotten
B: Tess Thompson


Ohio State Buckeyes
Ohio State Buckeyes
Ohio State Buckeyes
Ohio State Buckeyes
Ohio State Buckeyes
Ohio State Buckeyes
Ohio State Buckeyes