Feb. 14, 2015

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The ninth-ranked Ohio State men’s swimming and diving team kick started competition at the Ohio State Winter Invitational on Saturday at McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion. The Buckeyes suited up against competitors from Ball State, Buffalo, Eastern Michigan, Harvard, Miami (Ohio), Purdue, Toledo and Wright State.

A freshman contingent of Stefano Vrolijk, Michael Eaton, Greg Nymberg and Kevin Musterait earned the top finish in the men’s 200 Medley Relay in a time of 1:31.39. Jovan Mitrovic followed in winning fashion, with a first-place touch in the 500 freestyle (4:30.68).

Nymberg captured an individual victory in the 100 butterfly with a time of 49.54. The 100 breaststroke saw two NCAA B-cut times from both senior John Zucca (54.31) and Eaton (54.96) in first and second place finishes, respectively.

Sophomore Matt Moen concluded the 400 Individual Medley final with a B-cut time of 3:52.52, as well as first-place points. Kevin Musterait claimed an individual win in the 100 freestyle with a time of 44:51.

The Buckeye relay team of Musterait, Stephen Watson, Nathan Christian and Nick Brodie closed out day one of finals with a top finish in the 200 freestyle relay (1:22.21).

Ohio State and the rest of the field resume racing Sunday. Prelims are scheduled for an 11 a.m. start time, while finals will continue at 4 p.m.

Ohio State Men’s Swimming and Diving
2015 Ohio State Winter Invitational
McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion – Columbus, Ohio
Saturday, Feb. 14

Top Buckeye Finishes: 200 Medley Relay – 1. Vrolijk, Eaton, Nymberg, Musterait (1:31.39), 500 Freestyle – 1. Mitrovic (4:30.68), 100 Butterfly – 1. Nymberg (49.54), 100 Breaststroke – 1. Zucca (54.31), 400 IM – 1. Moen (3:52.52), 100 Freestyle – 1. Musterait (44.51), 200 freestyle – 1. Musterait, Watson, Christian, Brodie (1:22.21).