Xavier Live Stats Radford Live Stats

Xavier, Radford Weekly Release

Aug. 18, 2011

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The eighth-ranked Ohio State women’s soccer team opens the 2011 season against Xavier at 7:30 p.m. Friday and Radford at 1 p.m. Sunday at Jesse Owens Memorial Stadium.

The Buckeyes are coming off a Big Ten championship and an NCAA College Cup appearance last season, the first such accomplished feats in program history. The team returns eight starters and 18 letterwinners for the 2011 campaign.

Ohio State advanced to its first College Cup in 2010, reaching the NCAA semifinals after winning the Big Ten regular-season championship. With its record of 17-5-2, the 2010 team recorded the second-most wins in program history behind the 2004 squad’s 19 wins. The Buckeyes’ 14-4-1 regular season was also the second best in school history.

Ohio State is ranked eighth in the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) 2011 preseason poll. The Buckeyes are listed 10th in preseason rankings by Soccer America and Top Drawer Soccer.

Ohio State is under the direction of 15th-year head coach Lori Walker. She has guided the team to six NCAA tournament berths (2002-03-04-07-09-10) as well as two Big Ten tournament championships (2002 and 2004). Greg Miller is in his fourth season as associate head coach and 11th overall with the Buckeyes. The 2011 season marks the fourth campaign for assistant coach Glen Tourville; former team manager Spencer Bownas serves as a volunteer coach this season.

Danielle Scoliere and Liz Sullivan have been named captains of the 2011 squad and Lauren Granberg has been named assistant captain.

Scoliere will be a captain for the second consecutive season after appearing in 61 games, making 34 starts, over her first three seasons. The Dublin, Ohio, native has primarily been an outside back for the Buckeyes but has been able to move up and provide an offensive spark because of her speed and work rate. She is a three-time OSU Scholar-Athlete and a two-time Academic All-Big Ten honoree.

Sullivan, from Powell, Ohio, played in all 24 games as an outside back as a junior last season, scoring a pair of goals and adding five assists. A quick and talented defender who can also move up to the midfield, Sullivan scored her first career goal, a game-winner, last season in a 2-0 win over Pitt. Sullivan is a three-time OSU Scholar-Athlete and a two-time Academic All-Big Ten selection.

Granberg, from Edmonton, Alberta, was third on the team in scoring last season, tallying four goals and five assists while appearing in all 24 games. She is a two-time OSU Scholar-Athlete and an Academic All-Big Ten honoree.
Jesse Owens Memorial Stadium is sporting a new playing surface this season. Now a 100% Kentucky Bluegrass surface, the sod from the Tuckahoe Sod Farm was put down in July after work to the drainage, sprinkler and conduit systems underneath.
Some more “stats” about the home of the Buckeyes:
– Entering the 2011 season, the home team is 83-33-11 all-time.
– Ohio State is 64-16-9 since 2003 and 39-11-5 since 2006.
– The Buckeyes went 9-2-0 at home in 2009 and were 9-2-2 in 2010.
Three Ohio State women’s soccer contests will be televised live this fall as part of the Big Ten Network (BTN) autumn schedule. The Buckeyes’ road games at Minnesota and Wisconsin will be shown live on national television, as will Senior Day activities from Columbus when Ohio State hosts Indiana. The Sept. 18 contest at Minnesota is a 2 p.m. Eastern start, as is the game at Wisconsin on Oct. 2. The Buckeyes’ regular-season home finale against Indiana on Oct. 30 will begin at 1 p.m. at Jesse Owens Memorial Stadium. The complete BTN broadcast schedule can be found at

Led by second-year head coach Woody Sherwood, Xavier looks to build off a 2010 campaign that saw the Musketeers post a 7-11-0 record. The Musketeers return three of their top four scorers from last season including senior Jessica Brooks (7g) and Lauren Heap (5g).

The Buckeyes hold a 5-3-1 advantage in the all-time series with Xavier including a 2-0 win in the last meeting in 2006.

Under the direction of 16th-year head coach Ben Sohrabi, Radford enters the 2011 season looking to defend its 2010 Big South regular season crown. The Highlanders return 2011 Big South Preseason Defensive Player of the Year Che’ Brown and Julie Ruh’e, the team’s leading scorer with 20 points last season as a freshman.

Sunday will mark the first meeting between the Buckeyes and Highlanders.

The Buckeyes were picked by Big Ten head coaches to finish second in the conference this season, the conference office announced Aug. 16.

Penn State garnered the top spot in the preseason poll, followed by the Buckeyes, Wisconsin, Illinois and Michigan. Each team was a 2010 NCAA tournament team and it marks the ninth-consecutive season the Nittany Lions were picked to win the Big Ten.

Ohio State women’s soccer forward Paige Maxwell has been named to the MAC Hermann Trophy watch list, the Missouri Athletic Club announced Aug. 15.

The senior from Medina, Ohio, is the reigning Offensive Player of the Year in the Big Ten after leading the Buckeyes and tying for second in the conference with 10 goals, including five game-winners, while adding a pair of assists. The 2010 NSCAA third team All-American has led the team in goals in each of her three seasons and ranks seventh in program history with 24 career goals.

It marks the third time in program history that a Buckeye was named to the Hermann Trophy watch list after Lara Dickenmann was selected in 2007 and Cassie Dickerson was chosen last season. The award is considered the highest individual honor in collegiate soccer.

Voting for the MAC Hermann Trophy is conducted in late November, when a field of 15 semifinalists is reduced to three finalists. Those three will be invited to the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis on Friday, Jan. 6, 2012, where a news conference will be held to announce the winner, followed by a banquet to honor the three finalists.

Ohio State is back in action Aug. 26 at Missouri; the Buckeyes return home Aug. 28 at 6 p.m. hosting Wright State at Jesse Owens Memorial Stadium.