Dec. 29, 2001

COLUMBUS, Ohio- Members of the No. 7 Ohio State wrestling team enjoyed success in the opening session of the Midlands tournament in Evanston, Ill., Saturday with nine Buckeyes remaining in contention to win their respective weight classes. OSU also sits No. 2 in the early team race after collecting 37.5 points. Iowa State leads the tournament with 38.5 points.

Nick Preston (Sr., Columbus, Ohio/DeSales) reached a milestone in his first match of the event when he recorded the 100th win of his collegiate wrestling career with an 8-4 decision over Stipe Miocic of Cleveland State. Preston also defeated Emmett Willson of Montana State Northern, 3-1, to advance to the quarterfinals of the 197-pound weight class where he is the No. 5 seed.

Preston joins Jeff Ratliff (So., Marion, Ohio/Marion Harding), No. 3 seed at 133, Robert Sessley (Sr., Columbus, Ohio/Beechcroft), No. 4 seed at 141, Josh Daugherty (Jr., Huber Heights, Ohio/Wayne), also at 141, Keaton Anderson (Jr., Pickerington, Ohio/Pickerington), No. 6 seed at 149, Josh Janson (Sr., Loveland, Ohio/Moeller), No. 8 seed at 157, John Clark (So., Canton, N.Y./Canton), No. 5 seed at 165, Anton Talamantes (Jr., Ft. Wayne, Ind./Bishop Dwenger), No. 6 seed at 184 and Tommy Rowlands (So., Hilliard, Ohio/Bishop Ready), No. 2 seed at heavyweight, in the quarterfinal rounds of their respective weight classes. Current assistant coach and former Buckeye wrestler Mitch Clark also is into the quarterfinals of the heavyweight division . He is one win away from joining the ’20 in 4′ club which honors and recognizes wrestlers who have won 20 or more matches in their first four years of competition in the event. Clark entered the weekend at 17-3 in the event and improved to 19-3 after the first session with a 4-3 decision over Michigan State’s Mike Keenan and a pinfall over Jason Ott of Wisconsin-LaCrosse at 1:29.

Session Two is slated to begin at 7 p.m. CST at Welsh-Ryan Arena on the campus of Northwestern University. All wrestlers will by fighting to advance to the third session which is Sunday at noon.

2001 Midlands Session I 125- Jesse Leng First Round Leng Dec Vic Moreno (Cal-Bakersfield), 3-2 Second Round Leng MajDec Robert Potashnick (Northwestern), 12-3 Third Round No. 1 Leroy Vega (Minn.) Dec Leng, 6-4 OT

133- No. 3 Jeff Ratliff First Round Bye Second Round Ratliff MajDec Ryan L’Amoreaux (Mich. St.), 14-3 Third Round Ratliff Dec Chris Matresse (Slippery Rock), 16-1

141- No. 4 Robert Sessley First Round Bye Second Round Sessley Dec Juan Venturi (Princeton), 3-2 Third Round Sessley Fall Oliver Vazquez (N. Illinois),

141- Josh Daugherty First Round Bye Second Round Daugherty Dec Kentrail Galloway (Iowa St.), 8-1 Third Round Daugherty MajDec No. 7 John Giacche (N’western), 13-0

149- No. 6 Keaton Anderson First Round Bye Second Round Anderson MajDec Scott Frohardt (Air Force), 11-3 Third Round Anderson Dec Jason Bader (Ind.), 17-2

157- No. 8 Josh Janson First Round Bye Second Round Janson MajDec Matt Veech (Iowa St.), 10-1 Third Round Janson MajDec No. 9 David Bolyard (C. Mich.), 15-5

157- Richie Bordner First Round Bye Second Round No. 10 Adam Britt (VMI) Dec Bordner, 5-1 Conso Second Frank DeFilippis (E. Illinois) Dec Bordner, 9-2

165- No. 5 John Clark First Round Bye Second Round Clark MajDec Tony Morgan (Car-New), 14-5 Third Round Clark Dec John Garriques (Hofstra), 11-10

174- Ryan Hieber First Round Bye Second Round No. 4 Nathan Coy (Ore. St.) Dec Hieber, 2-1 Conso Second Hieber Fall Bill Lowney (N. Illinois), 4:35 Conso Third Hieber Dec Justin Haskins (Rutgers), 3-1

174- Phillip Freeman First Round Freeman Dec Dan Roy (E. Strouds.), 3-2 Second Round No. 10 Matt Erwin (VMI) Dec Freeman, 1-0 Conso Second No. 9 Jim Stanec (Cornell) Dec Freeman, 7-2

184- No. 6 Anton Talamantes First Round Bye Second Round Talamantes Dec Hunter Guenot (Bloomsburg), 5-2 Third Round Talamantes Dec Alex Lammers (C. Mich.), 13-6

184- Blake Kaplan First Round Bye Second Round Kaplan Fall Clint Freitag (MacMurry), 1:55 Third Round Tyson Thivierge (Montana St. North.) MajDec Kaplan, 8-0

184- Casey Kapustka First Round Kapustka Dec Jason Skretkowicz (Hofstra),4-3 Second Round Kapustka Dec Joe Phillips (Clev. St.), 7-5 Third Round No. 5 Clint Wattenberg (Cornell) Dec Kapustka, 4:23

197- No. 5 Nick Preston First Round Bye Second Round Preston Dec Stipe Miocic (Clev. St.), 8-4 Quarterfinals Preston Dec Emmett Willson (Montana St. North.), 3-1

HWT- No. 2 Tommy Rowlands First Round Rowlands Dec Russ Davie (Clev. St.), 11-4 Second Round Rowlands Dec Brian Keck (Wildcat WC), 3-2

HWT- No. 4 Mitch Clark First Round Clark Dec Mike Keenan (Mich. St.), 4-3 Second Round Clark Fall Jason Ott (UW-LaCrosse), 1:29

Team Results (after session I) 1. Iowa State 38.5 points 2. OHIO STATE 37.5 3. Iowa 35 4. Minnesota 32.5 5. Pennsylvania 31