Dec. 31, 2001

COLUMBUS, Ohio- Eight members of the No. 7 Ohio State wrestling team placed in the Top 8 of the 39th annual Midlands in Evanston, Ill., Sunday with a two more wrestlers with ties to the team also securing Top 3 finishes. The eight placers for the Buckeyes amassed 109 points to finish in fourth place as a team while Iowa captured the team crown with 151 points.

Tommy Rowlands (So., Hilliard, Ohio/Bishop Ready) third at heavyweight, Jeff Ratliff (So., Marion, Ohio/Marion Harding), fourth at 133, John Clark (So., Canton, N.Y./Canton), fourth at 165, Nick Preston (Sr., Columbus, Ohio/DeSales), fifth at 197, Robert Sessley (Sr., Columbus, Ohio/Beechcroft), seventh at 141, Keaton Anderson (Jr., Pickerington, Ohio/Pickerington), seventh at 149, Josh Janson (Sr., Loveland, Ohio/Moeller), seventh at 157, and Anton Talamantes (Jr., Ft. Wayne, Ind./Bishop Dwenger), seventh at 184, were the place winners for the Buckeyes while Josh Daugherty (Jr., Huber Heights, Ohio/Wayne) and OSU assistant coach Mitch Clark finished third at 141 and second at heavyweight, respectively. Daugherty was one of five OSU wrestlers to compete in the event unattached.

In perhaps the most thrilling match of the night, Rowlands, trying to avenge his 2-1 loss to John Lockhart at the 2001 NCAA Championships, fell behind early in the first period from a Lockhart takedown, but fought back to a 3-3 tie. In a mirror-image of the national title bout, the two went to double overtime where but Rowlands changed the end result when he held Lockhart down for the 30 second stanza to calim the 3-3 tiebreaker win. All other matches had concluded and the Rowlands win brought a loud roar from the remaining crowd. Ratliff opened the final round of competition for OSU in a third-place match with Michigan State’s Ryan L’Amoreaux, an opponent he handed a 14-3 major decision to in the second round of the 133 event. After a back-and-forth battle in the first two periods, L’Amoreaux scored a takedown and held Ratliff to the mat to score a 6-2 decision to take third. Ratliff, with a 4-2 record in the tournament, finished fourth.

Daugherty capped an impressive Midlands with a third-place finish at 141 after No. 3 seed Cedric Haymon of Cal-POLY medically forfeited the match. Daugherty went 6-1 with two wins by pinfall and one via technical fall.

Clark tried to capture OSU’s first win of the final session in the third-place match but lost a major decision to Troy Letters of Lehigh, 17-6. Clark finished 4-2 in the event.

In the battle for fifth place at 197, Preston scored a 5-3 decision over Montana State-Northern’s Emmett Willson to give OSU its first win of the finals. Preston and Willson battled for control throughout the opening stanza before Preston scored a takedown and did not relinquish the lead.

Mitch Clark closed out the Midlands with a second-place finish after suffering a 6-2 defeat at the hands of Steve Mocco from Iowa. Clark went 3-1 to reach the ’20 in 4′ club- 20 wins in four-consecutive Midlands.

The Buckeyes return to action Jan. 5 at Noon with Buffalo in the first of four duals scheduled for the Buckeye Duals in St. John Arena. OSU also faces Northern Illinois at 1:30 p.m., Eastern Michigan at 3 p.m. and Eastern Illinois at 4:30 p.m. If the Buckeyes can sweep all four duals, Russ Hellickson will earn his 300th career victory as a head coach.

2001 Midlands Session III 133- No. 3 Jeff Ratliff – Fourth Place Semifinals No. 10 Cliff Moore (Iowa) Dec Ratliff, 5-1 Conso Semis Ratliff Dec No. 4 Marc Juergens (Iowa), 5-1 Third/Fourth Ryan L’Amoreaux (Michigan St.) Dec Ratliff, 6-2

141- No. 4 Robert Sessley – Seventh Place Conso Quarters No. 8 Coyte Cooper (Ind.) Dec Sessley, 5-4 tb Seventh/Eighth Sessley Dec Thomas Juarez (Cal-Bakersfield), 5-3

141- Josh Daugherty – Third Place Conso Sixth Daugherty Fall Ryan Meloche (Cal-Bakersfield), 3:38 Conso Quarters Daugherty TechFall Thomas Juarez (Cal-Bakersfield), 18-1 (4:00) Conso Semis Daugherty Fall No. 5 Aaron Holker (Iowa State), 1:35 Third/Fourth Daugherty FORF No. 3 Cedric Haymon (Cal-POLY), medical forfeit

149- No. 6 Keaton Anderson – Seventh Place Conso Sixth Anderson Dec Joe Barry (Central Michigan), 5-1 Conso Quarters Scott Frohardt (Air Force) Dec Anderson, 3-1 Seventh/Eighth Anderson Dec Jason DeBruin (Hofstra), 4-2

157- No. 8 Josh Janson – Seventh Place Conso Sixth Janson Fall No. 10 Adam Britt (VMI), 5:59 Conso Semis Shad Benton (Pitt-Johnstown) MajDec Janson, 9-1 Seventh/Eighth Janson Dec No. 7 Derek Jenkins (Rider), 12-7

165- No. 5 John Clark – Fourth Place Semifinals No. 1 Joe Heskett (Iowa State) Fall Clark, 3:35 Conso Semis Clark Dec Nate Baker (Minn.), 6-3 Third/Fourth Troy Letters (Lehigh) MajDec Clark, 17-6

184- No. 6 Anton Talamantes – Seventh Place Conso Sixth Talamantes INJDEF No. 7 Tom Tanis (Rutgers), injury at 2:59 Conso Quarters No. 2 Damion Hahn (Minn.) Dec Talamantes, 3-2 Seventh/Eighth Talamantes Dec No. 8 Ben Heizer (N. Illinois), 8-5

184- Blake Kaplan – Did Not Place Conso Sixth No. 8 Ben Heizer (N. Illinois) Dec Kaplan, 4-2

197- No. 5 Nick Preston – Fifth Place Conso Fourth Preston Dec Mike Greenberg (Cornell), 3-1 Conso Quarters Preston Dec No. 9 C Skretkowicz (Hofstra), 6-3 Conso Semis No. 3 Owen Elzen (Minn.) Dec Preston, 1-1 tb Fifth/Sixth Preston Dec Emmett Willson (Montana St. North), 5-3

HWT- No. 2 Tommy Rowlands – Third Place Semifinals No. 6 Steve Mocco (Iowa) Dec Rowlands, 2-1 sv Conso Semis Rowlands Fall No. 5 Jason Cooley (Oregon State), 2:13 Third/Fourth Rowlands Dec No. 1 John Lockhart (Illinois), 3-3 tb

HWT- No. 4 Mitch Clark – Second Place Semifinals Clark Dec No. 1 John Lockhardt (Illinois), 4-2 OT Finals No. 6 Steve Mocco (Iowa) Dec Clark, 6-2

Final Team Results 1. Iowa 151.0 2. Iowa State 126.5 3. Minnesota 110.5 4. OHIO STATE 109.0 5. Pennsylvania 78.5