April 22, 2006

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The No. 7 Ohio State men’s tennis team beat No. 61 Northwestern 7-0 Saturday at the Stickney Tennis Center in Columbus to improve to 21-1 on the year and 9-0 in the Big Ten. With the win, the Buckeyes clinched at least a share of the regular season Big Ten title and can claim the outright title by beating Wisconsin tomorrow. A win tomorrow would also clinch the No. 1 seed in next weekends Big Ten tournament in Minneapolis, Minn. The title is OSU’s fifth overall, and first since they won the Big Ten tournament in 2001.

OSU extended its home win streak to 39 matches which dates back to the 2003 season. OSU has won nine-consecutive Big Ten regular season matches and 15 of the last 16, and is riding a 12 match win streak. Seventh year Ohio State head coach Ty Tucker has led the Buckeyes to their sixth-consecutive 20 win season, and OSU’s 12th overall. Northwestern is now 11-10 overall and 5-5 in the Big Ten.

The Buckeyes started by sweeping the doubles point. OSU has won the doubles point in each of its 22 dual matches this season. Ohio State seniors Ross Wilson (Toledo, Ohio/Toledo St. Francis de Sales) and Scott Green (North Canton, Ohio/Hoover), the nation’s No. 1-ranked doubles team, defeated Adam Schaechterle and Matt Christian of Northwestern 8-7 (8-6) at the No. 1 doubles spot to improve to 26-2 on the year, and 20-1 in dual play.

In singles, No. 38 Bryan Koniecko (Fr. Long Island, N.Y./Syosset) won his match at the No. 2 singles spot. He beat Willy Lock 1-6, 6-2, 6-3 to earn his 20th singles win of the year. Chris Klingemann (Jr., Bradenton, Fla./Texas Tech Independent) beat Christian Tempke at the No. 1 singles spot 6-1, 6-1. Klingemann improved his record at the No. 1 singles spot to 8-2 on the year. The Buckeyes swept the singles points.

Up next, the Buckeyes host Wisconsin Sunday at noon at the Stickney Tennis Center in Columbus.

No. 7 Ohio State 7, No. 61 Northwestern 0

No. 1 Chris Klingemann (OSU/21-6) def. Christian Tempke (NU) 6-1, 6-1
No. 2 No. 38 Bryan Koniecko (OSU/20-11) def. Willy Lock (NU) 1-6, 6-2, 6-3
No. 3 Devin Mullings (OSU/23-9) def. Juan Gomez (NU) 6-0, 7-6
No. 4 Dennis Mertens (OSU/24-6) def. Marc Dwyer (NU) 6-2, 6-2
No. 5 Steven Moneke (OSU/15-6) def. Adam Schaechterle (NU) 6-2, 6-3
No. 6 Ross Wilson (OSU/20-6) def. Alexy Evstratenkov (NU) 6-2, 6-1

No. 1 No. 1 Wilson/Green (OSU/26-2) def. Schaechterle/Christian (NU) 8-7 (8-6)
No. 2 Klingemann/Mullings (OSU/19-2) def. Tempke/Lock (NU) 8-5
No. 3 Eberly/Koniecko (OSU/17-2) def. Gomez/Dwyer (NU) 8-4