Dec. 2, 2011

COLUMBUS, Ohio– The sixth ranked Ohio State wrestling team currently is in first place with 69 points after the first day of the 2011 Cliff Keen Las Vegas Collegiate Wrestling Invitational Friday at the Las Vegas Convention Center. No. 9 Michigan is in second place with 63.5 points, while No. 3 Cornell rounds out the Top 3 with 61 points.

With five wrestlers set to compete in the semifinals, the Buckeyes will return to action at 12 p.m. ET Saturday with consolation action, while the semifinals will begin at 1 p.m. ET.

Freshman Hunter Stieber (141) arguably scored the biggest win of the tournament when he downed No. 1 Kellen Russell of Michigan, 6-5, thanks to a takedown in the waning seconds of the third period. Earlier in the day, Stieber, who hails from Monroeville, Ohio, recorded a major decision against Brown’s Zachary Tanenbaum, 10-1.

Johnni Dijulius (125) and Logan Stieber (133) were the first pair of Buckeyes to advance to the semifinals Friday night courtesy of bonus-point wins.

A true freshman, Dijulius wrapped up the day with a 15-6 major decision vs. Tyler Iwamur of Cal State Bakersfield. The Buckeye from Aurora, Ohio, began the day with an 11-8 victory against North Dakota State’s Trent Sprenkle.

Stieber won all three of his matches Friday via pins, including a 49-second pin in the second round against Shawn Jones of Boise State. Prior to that impressive outing, the Monroeville, Ohio, native pinned Brock Livorio (North Carolina) in 1:43. The redshirt freshman then ended the evening pinning Harvard’s Steven Keith near the 4:40 mark.

Redshirt-sophomore Nick Heflin (174) was the fourth Buckeye to advance to the semifinals after posting a 3-2 decision against Patrick Martinez of Wyoming. The Massillon, Ohio, native opened the tournament with a 5-1 victory vs. Lance Bryson of West Virginia before defeating Arizona State’s Jacob Graham, 11-3, in the second round.

Peter Capone, a redshirt sophomore from Johnson City, N.Y., secured his place in the semifinals courtesy of his 5-2 win over Michigan’s Ben Apland. Capone’s previous match was a hard-fought 2-1 tiebreaking win vs. Ernest James of Edinboro. That win was after an 11-2 victory in the first round vs. Leonard Romero of Menlo Calif.

Cam Tessari, a native of Monroeville, Ohio, dropped to the wrestleback bracket after suffering a 7-4 defeat to Air Force’s Cole VonOhlen. In the opening session, Tessari won back-to-back matches, both by decision. In his first bout, Tessari downed Jonathan Burns (North Carolina), 8-2, before beating Hofstra’s Justin Accordino, 8-3.

C.J. Magrum, a redshirt junior from Oak Harbor, Ohio, also will contend for third place after dropping a 16-1 decision to No. 2 seed Joe LeBlanc of Wyoming in the quarterfinals. Magrum started the day strong with a 2:49 pin over Stanford’s Spence Patrick. Magrum then decisioned Hofstra’s Ben Clymer in a 4-3 tiebreaking thriller.

Joining Tessari and Magrum in their attempts to finish in the Top 3 is freshman Andrew Campolattano. The Bound Brook, N.J., native lost a close 6-4 decision in sudden victory to Taylor Meeks of Oregon State after notching consecutive wins. Campolattano earned a 52-second pin over North Idaho College’s Justin Korthuis and followed with an 8-3 decision against Mac Mancuso.

At 157 pounds, redshirt freshman Josh Demas rebounded from a first-round 8-2 setback to win three consecutive matches in consolation action. A 4-3 decision over Victor DeJesus (Arizona State) began the run and that win was followed by a 5-4 triumph vs. Shawn Perry of Wisconsin. Demas concluded the day with a 3-1 win against Napoleon Aniciete of Utah Valley.

Freshman Derek Garcia was forced to bow out of the tournament because of an illness.

2011 Cliff Keen Las Vegas Collegiate Wrestling Invitational
Friday, Saturday Dec. 2-3
Las Vegas Convention Center

Team Results
1. Ohio State 69
2. Michigan 63.5
3. Cornell 61
4. Wyoming 58
5. Oregon State 56.5
6. Edinboro 49
7. Nebraska 48.5
8. Hofstra 43.5
9. Kent 40.5
10. Cal Poly 39

Johnni Dijulius DEC Trent Sprenkle (North Dakota State), 11-8
Johnni Dijulius MAJ DEC Tyler Iwamur (Cal State Bakersfield), 15-6

No. 4 Logan Stieber PINNED Brock Livorio (North Carolina), 1:43
No. 4 Logan Stieber PINNED Shawn Jones (Boise State), :49
No. 4 Logan Stieber PINNED Steven Keith (Harvard), 4:40

No. 15 Hunter Stieber MAJ DEC Zachary Tanenbaum (Brown), 10-1
No. 15 Hunter Stieber DEC Kellen Russell (Michigan), 6-5

No. 15 Cam Tessari DEC Jonathan Burns (North Carolina), 8-2
No. 15 Cam Tessari DEC Justin Accordino (Hofstra), 8-3
Cole VonOhlen (Air Force) DEC No. 15 Cam Tessari, 7-4

Mallie Shuster (Kent State) DEC No. 14 Josh Demas, 8-2
No. 14 Josh Demas DEC Victor DeJesus (Arizona State), 4-3
No. 14 Josh Demas DEC Shawn Perry (Wisconsin), 5-4
No. 14 Josh Demas DEC Napoleon Aniciete (Utah Valley), 3-1

Derek Garcia DEC Coleman Gracey (Army), 6-5
Shane Onufer (Wyoming) wins on medical forfeit Derek Garcia
Ethan Smith (Utah Valley) wins on medical forfeit Derek Garcia

No. 4 Nick Heflin DEC Lance Bryson (West Virginia), 5-1
No. 4 Nick Heflin MAJ DEC Jacob Graham (Arizona State), 11-3
No. 4 Nick Heflin DEC Patrick Martinez (Wyoming), 3-2

C.J. Magrum PINNED Spence Patrick (Stanford), 2:49
C.J. Magrum DEC Ben Clymer (Hofstra), 4-3 tb
Joe LeBlanc (Wyoming) TECH FALL C.J. Magrum, 16-1

No. 17 Andrew Campolattano PINNED Justin Korthuis (North Idaho College), :52
No. 17 Andrew Campolattano DEC Mac Mancuso (West Virginia), 8-3
Taylor Meeks (Oregon State) DEC No. 17 Andrew Campolattano, 6-4 sv

Peter Capone MAJ DEC Leonard Romero (Menlo (Calif.)), 11-2
Peter Capone DEC Ernest James (Edinboro), 2-1tb
Peter Capone DEC Ben Apland (Michigan), 5-2