Dec. 3, 2011

COLUMBUS, Ohio– Behind five true freshmen and a pair of redshirt freshmen, the sixth ranked Ohio State wrestling team captured the 2011 Cliff Keen Las Vegas Collegiate Wrestling Invitational Saturday at the Las Vegas Convention Center. Michigan finished second, while Wyoming rounded out the Top 3.

Logan Stieber, a redshirt freshman from Monroeville, Ohio, not only earned the individual title at 133 pounds, but his 10-5 win over Aaron Schopp of Edinboro in the final lifted the Scarlet and Gray to the team title as well. After an initial day in which he pinned all three of his opponents, L. Stieber began the second day of competition with a 14-6 major decision win against Michigan’s Zach Stevens.

The Buckeyes were also backed by two runner-up finishes by freshman Hunter Stieber (141) and redshirt-sophomore Peter Capone (HWT). Following his exciting win over No. 1 Kellen Russell of Michigan the day before, H. Stieber met fifth ranked Michael Mangrum in the final and dropped a 6-3 decision. In the semifinals, H. Stieber, the younger brother of L. Stieber, defeated Tyler Small of Kent State, 6-2.

Capone, a Johnson City, N.Y., native, recorded a 5-2 victory over Levi Cooper of Arizona State as one of the remaining four in the heavyweight bracket, but then suffered a setback in the final vs. Clayton Jack of Oregon State. At the 6:51 mark, Capone was pinned by the eighth ranked Jack.

Redshirt sophomore Nick Heflin finished third at 174 pounds. The Buckeye from Massillon, Ohio, was able to rebound from a 3-2 loss to Ryan DesRoches (Cal Poly) and win back-to-back matches for the Top 3 finish. In the wrestlebacks, Heflin downed Indiana’s Ryan Leblanc, 3-1, in sudden victory before posting a 3-2 triumph in the third-place matchup vs. Patrick Martinez. It was the second meeting in the tournament between Heflin and Martinez and Heflin won the first meeting by the same 3-2 score.

After posting a 2-0 record on day one, 125-pounder Johnni Dijulius lost, 5-2, to Cornell’s Frank Perrelli in the semifinals. However, the true freshman from Aurora, Ohio, answered with another win vs. Trent Sprenkle of North Dakota State. The previous day, Dijulius downed Sprenkle, 11-8. Competing for third place, Dijulius matched up against Steve Bonanno (Hofstra) and fell, 8-2, for a fourth-place finish.

Wrestling four times Saturday, redshirt junior C.J. Magrum was fifth at 184 pounds. A 9-4 victory against Thomas Ferguson of North Carolina preceded advancement on a Matt Ryan (West Virginia) forfeit. What came next were back-to-back tiebreaker bouts en route to the Top 5 finish. First, Magrum, who hails from Oak Harbor, Ohio, dropped a tough 3-1 tiebreaker to Boise State’s Jacob Swartz. However, Magrum countered with a 3-1 tiebreaker win of his own when he beat Luke Rebertus of Navy.

Like Magrum, freshman Cam Tessari (Monroeville, Ohio) also wrestled four times Saturday and finished sixth at 149 pounds. Consecutive wins (5-2 decision over Nebraska’s Brandon Wilbourn and a 5-3 victory vs. Scott Sakaguch of Oregon State) to open the day, kept Tessari in contention for third place, but a 7-6 tiebreaker loss to David Habat of Edinboro dropped him to the fifth-place bout where he lost to Josh Wilson of Utah Valley, 4-2.

Redshirt freshman Josh Demas (157 pounds) also finished in the Top 6. A medical forfeit by Harvard’s Walter Peppelman advanced Demas to a meeting with Dakota Friesth of Wyoming. Demas defeated Friesth, 9-4, before dropping a 5-0 decision to North Dakota State’s Steven Monk. In the fifth-place matchup, Demas, who hails from Westerville, Ohio, was pinned in 2:28.

Freshman Derek Garcia was forced to bow out of the tournament Friday because of an illness, while classmate Andrew Campolattano did not place.

Up next, the Buckeyes will wrestle at Pittsburgh at 7 p.m. Dec. 9 before returning to the Buckeye state to face Kent State in Kent, Ohio, at 1 p.m. Dec. 11.

2011 Annual Cliff Keen Las Vegas Collegiate Wrestling Invitational
Friday and Saturday, Dec. 2-3
Las Vegas Convention Center
(Bolded matches took place on day 2

Team Scores
1. Ohio State 129
2. Michigan 116
3. Wyoming 114.5
4. Nebraska 106
5. Oregon State 100
6. Cornell 89.5
7. Edinboro 74
8. Pittsburgh 66.5
9. Kent State 61
10. Hofstra 59.5

125 – Johnni Dijulius: 4th
Johnni Dijulius DEC Trent Sprenkle (North Dakota State), 11-8
Johnni Dijulius MAJ DEC Tyler Iwamur (Cal State Bakersfield), 15-6
Frank Perrelli (Cornell) DEC Johnni Dijulius, 5-2
Johnni Dijulius DEC Trent Sprenkle (North Dakota State), 7-1
Steve Bonanno (Hofstra) DEC Johnni Dijulius, 8-2

133 – Logan Stieber: Champion
No. 4 Logan Stieber PINNED Brock Livorio (North Carolina), 1:43
No. 4 Logan Stieber PINNED Shawn Jones (Boise State), :49
No. 4 Logan Stieber PINNED Steven Keith (Harvard), 4:40
No. 4 Logan Stieber MAJ DEC Zachery Stevens (Michigan), 14-6
No. 4 Logan Stieber DEC Aaron Schopp (Edinboro), 10-5

141 – Hunter Stieber: Runner-up
No. 15 Hunter Stieber MAJ DEC Zachary Tanenbaum (Brown), 10-1
No. 15 Hunter Stieber DEC Kellen Russell (Michigan), 6-5
No. 15 Hunter Stieber DEC Tyler Small (Kent State), 6-2
Michael Mangrum (Oregon State) DEC No. 15 Hunter Stieber, 6-3

149 – Cam Tessari: 6th
No. 15 Cam Tessari DEC Jonathan Burns (North Carolina), 8-2
No. 15 Cam Tessari DEC Justin Accordino (Hofstra), 8-3
Cole VonOhlen (Air Force) DEC No. 15 Cam Tessari, 7-4
No. 15 Cam Tessari DEC Brandon Wilbourn (Nebraska), 5-2
No. 15 Cam Tessari DEC Scott Sakaguch (Oregon State), 5-3
David Habat (Edinboro) DEC No. 15 Cam Tessari, 7-6 tb
Josh Wilson (Utah Valley) DEC No. 15 Cam Tessari, 4-2

157 – Josh Demas: 6th
Mallie Shuster (Kent State) DEC No. 14 Josh Demas, 8-2
No. 14 Josh Demas DEC Victor DeJesus (Arizona State), 4-3
No. 14 Josh Demas DEC Shawn Perry (Wisconsin), 5-4
No. 14 Josh Demas DEC Napoleon Aniciete (Utah Valley), 3-1
No. 14 Josh Demas wins on medical forfeit Walter Peppelman (Harvard)
No. 14 Josh Demas DEC Dakota Friesth (Wyoming), 9-4
Steven Monk (North Dakota State) DEC No. 14 Josh Demas, 5-0
Roger Pena (Oregon State) PINNED No. 14 Josh Demas, 2:28

165 – Derek Garcia Derek
Garcia DEC Coleman Gracey (Army), 6-5
Shane Onufer (Wyoming) wins on medical forfeit Derek Garcia
Ethan Smith (Utah Valley) wins on medical forfeit Derek Garcia

174 – Nick Heflin: 3rd
No. 4 Nick Heflin DEC Lance Bryson (West Virginia), 5-1
No. 4 Nick Heflin MAJ DEC Jacob Graham (Arizona State), 11-3
No. 4 Nick Heflin DEC Patrick Martinez (Wyoming), 3-2
Ryan DesRoches (Cal Poly) DEC No. 4 Nick Heflin, 3-2
No. 4 Nick Heflin DEC Ryan Leblanc (Indiana), 3-1sv
No. 4 Nick Heflin DEC Patrick Martinez (Wyoming), 3-2

184 – C.J. Magrum: 5th
C.J. Magrum PINNED Spence Patrick (Stanford), 2:49
C.J. Magrum DEC Ben Clymer (Hofstra), 4-3 tb
Joe LeBlanc (Wyoming) TECH FALL C.J. Magrum, 16-1
C.J. Magrum DEC Thomas Ferguson (North Carolina), 9-4
C.J. Magrum wins on medical forfeit Matt Ryan (West Virginia)
Jacob Swartz (Boise State) DEC C.J. Magrum, 3-1tb
C.J. Magrum DEC Luke Rebertus (Navy), 3-1tb

197 –Andrew Campolattano
No. 17 Andrew Campolattano PINNED Justin Korthuis (North Idaho College), :52
No. 17 Andrew Campolattano DEC Mac Mancuso (West Virginia), 8-3
Taylor Meeks (Oregon State) DEC No. 17 Andrew Campolattano, 6-4 sv
James Fox (Harvard) DEC No. 17 Andrew Campolattano, 8-7

HWT –Peter Capone: Runner-up
Peter Capone MAJ DEC Leonard Romero (Menlo (Calif.)), 11-2
Peter Capone DEC Ernest James (Edinboro), 2-1tb
Peter Capone DEC Ben Apland (Michigan), 5-2
Peter Capone DEC Levi Cooper (Arizona State), 5-2
Clayton Jack (Oregon State) PINNED Peter Capone, 6:51