February 17, 2018

No. 6 Buckeyes Fall To Bemidji 2-1


Feb. 17, 2018

Final Stats | Box Score

RELATED INFO: Follow the Buckeyes on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram | 2017-18 Schedule

COLUMBUS, Ohio — The No. 6 Ohio State University women’s ice hockey team put forth a strong offensive effort, but it was not enough as the Bemidji State University Beavers put a damper on the senior day festivities, beating Ohio State 2-1 on Saturday at the OSU Ice Rink.

The Buckeyes (21-9-4, 14-6-4 WCHA) out-shot the Beavers in the game with 29 shots-on-goal to BSU’s 27. OSU opened the scoring when Maddy Field lit the lamp just over a minute into the second period. Near the midway point of the second, Alexis Joyce scored for Bemidji to knot things up at 1-1, which held firm heading into the third.

BSU took full advantage of a power play early in the third period, using the advantage to take the lead with a goal from Jacqueline Kaasa at the 5:23 point of the period. The Buckeyes pressed for the rest of the game, notching 15 SOG in the period, but the women could not score an equalizer and fell in the regular season finale 2-1.

“We know that this team can play when they need to,” OSU Head Coach Nadine Muzerall said after the game. “The first period was pretty back and forth, and we usually play well in the second and tonight we kind of slept through it. The four penalties called in the second didn’t help either, we play a fast game, and those penalties slowed the game down. We showed some fire and intensity in the third, but going forward we need to show that before our hand is forced.”

Jincy Dunne and Julianna Iafallo assisted on Field’s goal in the second. Emma Maltais led the team with six SOG today. Both Dunne and Dani Sadek put four SOG each. Sadek also blocked two shots.

With the regular season over, the Buckeyes now shift their focus to the WCHA playoffs. For the first time since 2007 Ohio State will host its first round matchup, a best of three series with Minnesota State. That series is set to get underway at 6:07 p.m. ET on Friday, February 23 at the OSU Ice Rink.