April 15, 2006

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The fifth-ranked Ohio State rowing team posted seven victories Saturday in dual races against Big Ten foe No. 18 Minnesota and No. 19 Oregon State in Bloomington, Ind. The regatta concluded the regular-season slate for the Buckeyes with the first and second varsity eight boats as well as the second varsity four winning all of their races.

The first varsity eight boat posted two decisive victories. In the morning race, the boat of Susanne Herbrand (Fr., Magdeburg, Germany), Simone Haubner (So., Leipzig, Germany), Justine Mahler (Jr., Cincinnati, Ohio), Ninett Kossowsky (Sr., Leipzig, Germany), Gabriele Albertaviciute (So., Vilnius, Lithuania), Beth Tompkins (Sr., Westerville, Ohio), Annabelle Fago (Jr., Giessen, Germany), Jessica Shepherd (Jr., Richmond, Ohio) and coxswain Colleen Saville (Fr., Saratoga Springs, N.Y.) topped Oregon State by over 10 seconds with a finish time of 6:32.16. In the afternoon, the Buckeyes defeated Minnesota with a time of 6:33.70 to the Gophers’ 6:38.20.

Ohio State’s second varsity eight, the current Big Ten Boat of the Week, extended its unbeaten streak to six duals with two victories as well. The boat, which included Lavinia Tinelli (Fr., Rome, Italy), Andrea Dymalski (So., Bremen, Germany), Jana Schiller (Sr., Marquardt, Germany) in the 3 seat of the morning race and Patricia Goodeman (Jr., Waterville, Ohio) in the afternoon, Mary Sheehan (Jr., Johnstown, Pa.), Katie Poling (Sr., Elyria, Ohio), Zuzanna Trzcinska (Fr., Ilawa, Poland), Briony Clare (Jr., Sydney, Australia), Olga Grigorieva (Sr., Moscow, Russia) and coxswain Sarah Obee (Sr., Toledo, Ohio), beat both the Beavers and Gophers in the two sessions with a time of 6:37.29 in the morning race and 6:42.50 in the afternoon. Minnesota finished second in both (6:44.40 morning/6:48.70 afternoon) and Oregon State took third (6:52.82 in the morning/7:00.31 afternoon). The first varsity four split its races, defeating the Beavers in the morning but falling to the Gophers in the afternoon. The boat of Katie Ignasiak (Jr., Sylvania, Ohio), Mackenzie Hiltbrand (Jr., Upper Arlington, Ohio), Peta-Leigh Dakyns (Johannesburg, South Africa), Guilia Benedetti (Jr., Columbus, Ohio) and coxswain Susie Wilson (Jr., Fredericktown, Ohio) won the first race with a time of 7:31.20. The Buckeyes finished at 7:35.53 in the afternoon but Minnesota clocked in at 7:30.03 to take the victory.

The second varsity four topped Minnesota twice and beat host Indiana as well in the morning race. Angela Dean (Sr., Elizabeth City, N.C.), Jackie Ruetenik (Jr., Vermilion, Ohio), Susan Cohen (Sr., Milford, Conn.), Katie Machingo (Sr., Cincinnati, Ohio) and coxswain Katie McFarland (So., Elyria, Ohio) combined to win the first race with a time of 7:36.39. Minnesota was second (7:41.16) and Indiana was third (8:29.00). The Buckeyes posted almost the same time in the afternoon, winning with 7:36.80 to the Gophers’ 7:37.98.

The first novice eight fell in both of its races. Ohio State (7:21.51) was defeated by Oregon State (7:04.71) in the morning. Minnesota topped the Buckeyes in the afternoon with a time of 7:02.30. Ohio State finished at 7:21.70.

The Buckeyes will next compete in the Big Ten championships April 29. The event will be hosted by Minnesota at Lake Phalen in St. Paul, Minn.