April 21, 2018

No. 4 Ohio State Goes Unbeaten against No. 19 Duke, Notre Dame Saturday at Griggs


COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Ohio State women’s rowing team went undefeated on Saturday at Griggs Reservoir against Notre Dame and No. 19 Duke. This was the last home regatta of the season for the Buckeyes. The team raced Notre Dame in the first session and Duke in the second.

The First Varsity Eight of Anjali Fernandes, Ida Kruse, Lexie Nothdurft, Rachel Engel, Cassandra Johnson, Ida Petersen, Alessandra Montesano, Bridget Schodorf, and Alice Riley won its first session race against Notre Dame by 8.96 seconds. The boat finished with a time of 6:28.0. In the afternoon, the Buckeyes finished with a time of 6:15.0 to beat Duke.

The Second Varsity Eight, manned by Emma Warns, Leonie Heuer, Kaylee Koker, Rose Carr, Maddie Perrett, Morgan Hummel, Sierra Cydrus, Mane Bravo Alvez, and Kimberleigh Warriner, started the morning strong, defeating Notre Dame by nearly 19 seconds to finish with a time of 6:37.5. The boat recorded a 6:23.9 finish in the second session with a 15.90 second victory over Duke.

The First Varsity Four of Helen Sudhoff, Chelsea Harpool, Stephanie Gase, Ashley Saba, and Annie Jachthuber raced a time of 7:19.5, nearly 15 seconds faster than Notre Dame. In it’s second race of the day, the boat improved to a 7:08.2 finish and crossing the finish 15 seconds ahead of Duke.

The Second Varsity Four, consisting of Sophie Blair, Kendell Massier, Rachel Serafy, Hannah Hites, and Catherine McNutt, opened the day with a time of 7:26.0, defeating Notre Dame by 6.69 seconds. The boat clocked a 7:13.6 time across the finish line and finished with open water ahead of Duke.

The Third Varsity Four of Divya Batchu, Rachel Parker, Maddie Frendberg, Bianca Piloseno, and Olivia Kwiecinski won both of its races. The boat’s second race finish of 7:21.8 was its fastest time on the day.

The First Novice Eight manned by Sam Morrison, Julia Miklasevich, Rachel DeWitte, Michaela Nordhaus, Ally Hatton, Megan Cymanski, Alex Warning, Cailly O’Toole, and Lena Harper finished with a time of 6:52.2 in its first race of the day, 16 seconds faster than Notre Dame. The crew raced a time of 6:47.2 to beat Duke by nearly 15 seconds.

Taylor Coalter, Emily Witker, Megan Gibson, Allison Abramski, Willow Wahlers, Michaela Price, Erin Parker, Kailey Boomer, and Lilli Flinders of the Second Novice Eight started the day off for the Buckeyes in dominating fashion, crossing the finish line with a time of 7:05.2, nearly eight seconds faster than Notre Dame.  In the second session against Duke, the boat finished with a time of 7:00.05.

The Buckeyes will travel to Indianapolis for the Big Ten Championship on May 13.

1st Session
Ohio State 7:05.2
Notre Dame 7:12.84 +7.64
Michigan State 7:20.42 +15.22

MSU 6:58.9
Duke 7:14.87 +15.97

Ohio State 6:52.2
Notre Dame 7:13.69 +21.49

Ohio State 7:26.0
Notre Dame 7:43.9 +17.9
Michigan State 7:48.92 +22.93

Duke 7:43.6
Michigan State 7:45.33 +1.73

Ohio State 7:26.0
Notre Dame 7:32.69 +6.69

Duke 7:27.7
Michigan State 7:30.39 +2.69

Ohio State 7:19.5
Notre Dame 7:34.4 +14.9

Duke 6:50.5
Michigan State 6:53.07 +2.57
San Diego 7:11.7 +21.2

Ohio State 6:37.5
Notre Dame 6:56.47+18.97

Duke 6:36.5
Michigan State 6:42.19 +5.69
San Diego 6:54.51 +18.01

Ohio State 6:28.0
Notre Dame 6:36.96 +8.96

2nd Session
Ohio State 7:00.5
Notre Dame 7:10.06 +9.56
Michigan State 7:16.78 +16.28

Michigan State 6:46.5
Notre Dame 6:55.13 +8.63

Ohio State 6:47.2
Duke 7:02.15 +14.95

Ohio State 7:21.8
Notre Dame 7:32.99 +11.19
Michigan State 7:38.49 +16.69

Notre Dame 7:17.8
Michigan State 7:41.11 +23.31

Ohio State 7:13.6
Duke 7:41.38 +27.78

Notre Dame 7:18.6
Michigan State 7:21.29 +2.69

Ohio State 7:08.2
Duke 7:23.45 +15.25

Michigan State 6:37.6
Notre Dame 6:38.53 +0.93
San Diego 6:53.61 +15.01

Ohio State 6:23.9
Duke 6:39.8 +15.90

Notre Dame 6:23.6
Michigan State 6:26.47 +3.87
San Diego 6:42.64 +20.04

Ohio State 6:15.0
Duke 6:31.75 +16.75

Ohio State Lineup
1V8 (8-1 in races, 24-1 overall)
Anjali Fernandes– Coxswain
Ida Kruse
Lexie Nothdurft
Rachel Engel
Cassandra Johnson
Ida Petersen
Alessandra Montesano
Bridget Schodorf
Alice Riley

2V8 (8-1 in races, 24-1 overall)
Emma Warns– Coxswain
Leonie Heuer
Kaylee Koker
Rose Carr
Maddie Perrett
Morgan Hummel
Sierra Cydrus
Mane Bravo Alvez
Kimberleigh Warriner

1V4 (9-0 in races, 25-0 overall)
Helen Sudhoff– Coxswain
Chelsea Harpool
Stephanie Gase
Ashley Saba
Annie Jachthuber– Stroke

2V4 (9-0 in races, 25-0 overall)
Sophie Blair– Coxswain
Kendell Massier
Rachel Serafy
Hannah Hites
Catherine McNutt– Stroke

3V4 (2-1 in races, 6-1 overall)
Divya Batchu– Coxswain
Rachel Parker
Maddie Frendberg
Bianca Piloseno
Olivia Kwiecinski– Stroke

1N8 (8-0 in races, 26-0 overall)
Sam Morrison – Coxswain
Julia Miklasevich
Rachel DeWitte
Michaela Nordhaus
Ally Hatton
Megan Cymanski
Alex Warning
Cailly O’Toole
Lena Harper

2N8 (4-1 in races, 6-1 overall)
Taylor Coalter – Coxswain
Emily Witker
Megan Gibson
Allison Abramski
Willow Wahlers
Michaela Price
Erin Parker
Kailey Boomer
Lilli Flinders