November 9, 2018

No. 4 Ohio State Drops Opener at Bemidji State


RELATED INFO: Follow the Buckeyes on FacebookTwitter and Instagram | 2018-19 Schedule

Box Score | Season Stats

BEMIDJI, Minn. — The Ohio State University women’s ice hockey team mounted a rally against the Bemidji State University Beavers, but it fell short as the Buckeyes lost the series opener 2-1 on Friday at the Sanford Center.

The Nitty Gritty

  • Ohio State found itself in a hole halfway through the first period after Lindsey Featherstone came away with a goal from a scrum in front of Buckeye goaltender Andrea Braendli.
  • The Buckeyes continued to fire away, but it was a Bemidji goal making the difference in the second. Clair DeGeorge took the puck off a faceoff late in the period and scored to double the BSU advantage, 2-0, heading into the third.
  • Emma Maltais tied to kick start an OSU rally with a power play goal in the third, but that was as close as Ohio State would get, dropping the series opener 2-1.
  • Jincy Dunne and Madison Field tallied assists on the Maltais goal.
  • The Buckeyes finished the game with a 38-to-24 shots-on-goal advantage.

First Period

The Buckeyes controlled the puck for most of the opening period, outshooting Bemidji State 16-to-6, but the Featherstone goal gave BSU a 1-0 lead. Paetyn Levis led OSU with four SOG in the opening period. Tatum Skaggs, Rebecca Freiburger and Jincy Dunne notched two SOG each in the period.

Second Period

Ohio State came out hot in the second and nearly scored on multiple chances, but the DeGeorge goal with less than a minute to play put the Buckeyes at a big disadvantage heading into the third.

Third Period

Just over five minutes into the third Maltais scored on a power play, her sixth goal of the year, and the Buckeyes looked poised to rally. Ohio State put 14 SOG in the period, but the Beavers stopped all but one of them to hand OSU the 2-1 loss.

What’s Next?

The Buckeyes look to bounce back tomorrow in their series finale with Bemidji State. Puck drop is set for 4:07 p.m. ET at the Sanford Center.