Feb. 9, 2014


COLUMBUS, Ohio – On the final day of the Ohio State Winter Invitational, the fourth-ranked Ohio State men’s swimming and diving team continued to put together strong individual performances. Taking place at McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion, the two-day invite concluded Sunday with nine members of the OSU swimming squad competing.

Ohio State’s Ian Betts started finals off with an impressive showing in the 1650 freestyle. The Buckeye junior cut nearly six seconds from his previous personal best time. With a 15:35.98, Betts touched first in the event and was followed by teammate Matt Moen, who placed second in 15:39.03, a season best time.

The 200 freestyle followed, which also resulted in Ohio State conquering the top time. Nick Wrightson, a junior this season, earned the win with a season-best mark of 1:39.64.

Junior Dominic Pecze claimed first in the 200 backstroke with a time of 1:50.00, another season best.

In the 50 freestyle, sophomore David Morgan improved on his prelims time to finish sixth in 21.81. Wrightson continued Ohio State’s effort with a third-place showing in the 200 butterfly (1:53.43).

Another member of the junior class, Chris Cowley, rounded out the meet, earning a time of 1:54.43 for third. 

Up next, Ohio State will travel to Ann Arbor, Mich. for the 2014 Big Ten Championships Feb. 26 – March 1.

Ohio State Men’s Swimming and Diving
Sunday, Feb. 9 2014
McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion – Columbus, Ohio

Top Buckeye Finishes: 1650 freestyle – 1. Betts (15:35.98); 200 freestyle – 1. Wrightson (1:39.64); 200 backstroke – 1. Pecze (1:50.00); 50 freestyle – 6. Morgan (21.81); 200 butterfly – 3. Wrightson (1:53.43); 200 IM – 3. Cowley (1:54.43).