April 17, 2000

COLUMBUS, Ohio-No. 39 Ohio State men’s tennis team claimed victory over No. 33 Purdue, 4-3, at the Varsity Tennis Courts in West Lafayette, Ind. Sunday. With this win Ohio State collects its fifth win in the Big Ten and compiles an overall record of 11-8, 5-3 in the Big Ten. Purdue falls to 11-8, 6-3 in the Big Ten.

Ohio State began the match by securing the doubles point at the No. 1 and No. 3 positions. No. 34 Chris Porter (Jr., Canton, Ohio/Jackson) and Andrew Carlson (Jr., Gambrills, Md./Arundel) defeated Jason Marshall and Andrew Wakefield, 9-7. Derek DeFalco (Jr., Maumee, Ohio/Maumee) and Bob Wellstein (Jr., Perrysburg, Ohio/Perrysburg) won against Indiana’s Laith Al-Agba and Scott Mayer, 8-3, to capture the doubles point.

Ohio State’s singles victories came from Porter, Phil Metz (Fr., Mentor, Ohio/Mentor), and Wellstein. At the No. 2 position, Ohio State’s Porter defeated Derek Miller (7-6, 6-4). Metz (23-11) and Wellstein (22-10) were undefeated in singles play this weekend. Metz, playing at the No. 3 position, won against Andrew Wakefield, 7-5, 6-1. Wellstein defeated Evan Hays, 6-4, 6-3, at the No. 6 position to secure the team win.

After the match Tim Madden, head coach for Purdue, talked about playing Ohio State.

“Ohio State took it to us, and the hard part to accept is we were just out-competed,” Madden said.

The Buckeyes will conclude regular season play with two Big Ten matches against Michigan on April 22 and Michigan State the following day. Both matches will be played at the Stickney Tennis Center at 1 p.m.

Ohio State 4, Purdue 3
April 16, 2000
Varsity Tennis Courts, West Lafayette, Ind.

No. 34 Carlson/Porter, OSU def. Marshall/Wakefield, PU
McCafferty/Miller, PU def. B.J. Munroe/Jon Scale, OSU
DeFalco/Wellstein, OSU def. Al-Agba/Mayer, PU

No. 44 Jason Marshall, PU def. Andrew Carlson, OSU
6-1, 6-2
Chris Porter, OSU def. Derek Miller, PU
7-6, 6-4
Phil Metz, OSU def. Andrew Wakefield, PU
7-5, 6-1
Carl McCafferty, PU def. Vincent Ng, OSU
2-6, 6-3, 6-2
Scott Mayer, PU def. Derek DeFalco, OSU
5-7, 6-4, 6-2
Bob Wellstein, OSU def. Evan Hays, PU
6-4, 6-3