November 30, 2022

No. 3 Buckeyes Head West for Cliff Keen Invite

Share

No. 3 Ohio State at Cliff Keen Invitational
Dates: Dec. 2-3, 2021
Times: Event Schedule
Ohio State Tickets: 1-800-Go-Bucks
Cliff Keen Invite: Tickets
Venue: Las Vegas — LV Convention Center
Watch: FloWrestling.com ($)
Live Updates: FloArena (free) and on Twitter (@wrestlingbucks)
Match Notes: Ohio State

COLUMBUS, Ohio –Ohio State is one of 34 teams competing for the 2022 Cliff Keen Las Vegas Invitational Friday and Saturday. Ohio State finished in the No. 2 spot behind Nebraska in the 2021 event. Schools are permitted to enter one wrestler in each weight class, simulating postseason competition.

Of the 34 teams scheduled to participate in the 40th annual event, 10 are ranked among the Top 25. The Buckeyes enter the event as the No. 3 team nationally (InterMat). The other ranked teams: Michigan (6), Northwestern (8), North Carolina State (11), Cornell (13), Virginia Tech (14), Nebraska (16), Northern Iowa (17), North Dakota State (19) and South Dakota State (24). Oregon State (26), Cal Poly (28) and Purdue (30) also are in the field.

Ohio State has six team titles since 2009 at the CKLVI including three-consecutive (2016, 17, 18). The Buckeyes have placed outside the Top 5 just once in the past decade and own 10 Top 3 finishes.

EVENT HISTORY & 2022 SCHEDULE
Brackets: 2022 FloArena Brackets
Live video: FloWrestling.com ($)
Live results: FloArena (free) and on Twitter (@wrestlingbucks).

Friday, Dec. 2, 2022

9 am PST/Noon ET: Round 1 Pig Tail Championship, Round 2 of (32) Championship, Round 3 Consolation of (32), Round 4 Championship of (16), Consolation 1st of (16) Round 5 Consolation 2nd of (16)
6 pm PST/9 pm ET: Round 6 Championship Quarter Finals & Consolation Round 1st of (8)

Saturday, December 3rd, 2022

9 am PST/Noon ET: Round 7 Consolation 2nd of (8)
10 am PST/1 pm ET: Round 8 Championship Semi-Finals, Round 9 Consolation Semi Finals, Consolation Finals 5th & 6th, 7th & 8th Places
3 pm PST/6 pm ET: CHAMPIONSHIP FINALS 1st & 2nd, 3rd & 4th Places

No. 3 Ohio State CKLV LineupWeight2022 CKLV Finish2022-23 Record
No. 11 Malik Heinselman (r-Sr.)1256-2/5th13-2
Dylan Koontz (r-Sr.)1331-25-5
No. 7* Dylan D’Emilio (r-Jr.) 1414-3/8th5-5
No. 3 Sammy Sasso (r-Sr.) 1495-0/1st10-2
No. 6 Carson Kharchla (r-Jr.) 1653-2/8th6-2
No. 7 Ethan Smith (r-Sr.) 1742-28-4
No. 4 Kaleb Romero (r-Sr.)1844-2/4th11-2
No. 16 Gavin Hoffman (r-Sr.)1972-28-3
No. 7 Tate Orndorff (r-Sr.)HWT3-26-2
* Preseason ranking

VEGAS WINNINGS
• Ohio State has won the team title six times since 2009 (2009, 11, 12, 16, 17, 18). The Buckeyes earned second-place finishes in 2014, 2019 and 2021, third in 2013, fifth in 2015 and 12th in 2010. There was no event in 2020 (Covid).
• Ohio State has finished in the Top-5 10-consecutive seasons

CKLVI CAREER RECORDS
Malik Heinselman (4-2), Dylan Koontz (4-4), Dylan D’Emilio (2-2), Sammy Sasso (7-2/2nd in 2019, 2021), Carson Kharchla (4-1), Ethan Smith (4-2 at 165, 4-3 at 174), Kaleb Romero (5-3/1st in 2021), Gavin Hoffmann (2-1 at 184, 1-2 at 197), Tate Orndorff (2-2).

UP NEXT
The Buckeyes return to dual competition at the Covelli Center Dec. 11 (1 p.m.) vs. Kent State.

#GoBucks