August 27, 2017

No. 21 Buckeyes Knocked Off by No. 10 BYU


Aug. 26, 2017

Final Stats


PROVO, Utah – The No. 21 Ohio State University women’s volleyball team tasted defeated for the first time in 2017, dropping a four-set affair at No. 10 Brigham Young (19-25, 25-17, 25-18, 25-17).

Despite a valiant effort from freshman Hannah Gruensfelder and her whopping 27 digs, the Buckeyes couldn’t capitalize on a victorious opening set. Gruensfedler averaged nearly seven digs per set against the host Cougars and 4.73 digs/set for the weekend to earn all-tournament honors, joined by fellow freshman Lauren Witte on the prestigious list. Witte attacked .460 and posted 1.27 blocks per set.

Madison Smeathers excelled in the event’s title match, responsible for 13 kills and six blocks. Keeping with the underclassman flavor, freshman Ayanna Swan capitalized on her first extensive action by terminating five of eight errorless attempts.

Taylor Hughes continued to cover the stat sheet, recording 36 assists, a team-high seven blocks, seven digs and five kills.

Set 1: The opening frame was littered with tied scores (10) and lead changes (5) within the first 26 rallies of the evening. At 13-13, a Cougar attacking error handed the edge to Ohio State and ignited a 12-6 run to secure a Buckeye triumph, 25-19.

Set 2: A dozen Buckeyes took the floor in set number two, including Smeathers and her five kills in the frame. Gruensfelder notched seven digs for the second straight set, but it was all for not as BYU evened the match tally at 1-1 with a 25-17 winner.

Set 3: Gruensfelder picked it up even more in the third, digging nine balls. BYU spoiled her excellent efforts once again, however, grabbing eight of the final 11 points to close things out 25-18.

Set 4: The Cougars legitimized their top-10 distinction in the clincher, pulling ahead by as many as 12 points before ultimately posting another 25-17 win.

Next up for the Scarlet & Gray is the 13th annual Sports Imports D.C. Koehl Classic hosted at St. John Arena. The Buckeyes will welcome in Lipscomb, Missouri State and Oakland for the round-robin competition (Sept. 1-2).