April 24, 2002


Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader


%^$COLUMBUS, Ohio— The No. 20 Ohio State men’s tennis team (20-3 overall, 9-1 Big Ten) has the honor of playing host to the 2002 Big Ten Championships. The Buckeyes are the No. 2 seed in the tournament and play their first match at 10 a.m Friday against the winner of the No. 7 Iowa vs. No. 10 seed Wisconsin match. The Buckeyes are the defending tournament champions after defeating Illinois, 4-2, last year at Wisconsin.%^$

%^$The Ohio State University will play host to the 2002 Big Ten Men’s Tennis Tournament Thursday through Sunday at the Stickney Tennis Center, weather permitting. The tournament opens with first round matches at 10 a.m. and 2 p.m. Thursday, quarter final matches at 10 a.m. and 2 p.m. Friday, semi final matches at noon Saturday, and the championship match at noon Sunday. All 11 teams will compete for the chance to earn the conference’s automatic berth into the NCAA tournament. A complete tournament bracket is posted on the Ohio State Athletics Web Site. Following the conclusion of each match, results will be posted to the Ohio State Athletics Web Site ( In case of inclement weather, the tournament will be relocated to Jesse Owens West Recreation Center and Wickertree Tennis Club in Columbus.%^$

%^$The Buckeyes won the 2001 Big Ten Championship. They defeated Illinois, 4-2, to gain the title in Wisconsin. OSU entered the 2001 tournament as the No. 2 seed after finishing 21-3 overall and 8-2 in the Big Ten.%^$

%^$No. 58 Iowa is 12-9 overall and 4-6 in the Big Ten. Iowa finished the regular-season defeating Wisconsin, 4-3, and lossing to Minnesota,5-2. No. 92 Stuart Waters is Iowa’s top player at the No. 1 singles position, he ended the season 14-7 overall and 6-4 in the Big Ten. Steve Houghton is in his 21st season at Iowa. Houghton has led the Hawkeyes to a 239-222 record over 20 years.%^$

%^$Ohio State is 22-2 against Iowa in the all-time series. The Buckeyes defeated the Hawkeyes, 4-3, this season in Iowa City.%^$

%^$No. 72 Badgers are 8-12 overall and 2-8 in the Big Ten. No. 32 Danny Westerman leads the Badgers. The Badgers are lead by Pat Klingelhoets, who is in his 20th year at UW and is tied for third among reigning head coaches for the longest tenture. Assistant coach Marc Wurtzman returns to Columbus to face his alma mater and little brother.%^$

%^$The Buckeyes are currently trailing the Badgers, 23-32. Last time out, the Buckeyes defeated the Badgers, 6-1, in Columbus.%^$

%^$The Buckeyes ended their regular-season witha loss to No. 3 Illinois, 7-0, in Champaign, Ill. OSU could not hold the Fighting Illini from claiming the Big Ten champion title. The only victory was by the doubles team of Bohane and Warkentin. The duo upset No. 4 Amer Delic and Michael Calkins, 8-4.%^$

%^$The Buckeyes finished their 2001-02 home season undefeated for the first time in the history of the men’s tennis program April 14. The victory over Purdue was OSU’s 15th-consecutive home win, breaking the all-time record of 14-consecutive home wins set in the 1982-83 season.%^$

%^$OSU earned its 17th-consecutive victory this season against Northwestern (April 20), setting a new all-time record. OSU beat the team record of 16-consecutive wins, achieved last season.%^$

%^$The Buckeyes reached No. 12 March 20 in the Omni Hotels Collegiate Tennis Rankings, this was highest ranking in the history of men’s tennis program. Last season the highest ranking OSU reached was No. 16.%^$

%^$The Buckeyes are 9-1 in the Big Ten Conference so far this season. The Buckeyes kicked off the Big Ten season with a victory against Wisconsin, 6-1. OSU’s only loss in the Big Ten was against Illinois April 21 in Champaing, Ill. Ty Tucker, OSU head coach, has lead the Buckeyes to a 27-8 record in the Big Ten in his three years at the helm. Tucker also led the team to the Big Ten tournament championship in 2001. OSU’s all-time record against opponents in the Big Ten is 264-350-2.%^$

%^$Vince Ng (Jr., Broadview Heights, Ohio/University School) reached his 38th victory this year April 20, surpassing his 2000-01 record of 33-11. Ng defeated Northwestern’s Josh Axler (6-0, 6-4) to reach 38 wins and his 21th victory in duals this season. Ng is 38-6 overall and 9-1 in the Big Ten. Ng is 21-1 in duals this season, his loss was against Virginia Tech’s Stephanie Rod, 8-5.%^$

%^$Phil Metz (Jr., Mentor, Ohio/Mentor) ended the regular-season 19-9 overall and 7-3 in the Big Ten. Metz is OSU’s top rated player at No. 26. He is 8-4 against nationally-ranked opponents with defeats over then No. 16 Mario Toledo and No. 17 Romain Ambert.%^$

%^$Jeremy Wurtzman (So., Rochester, N.Y./Brickhouse Academy (Fla.), currently ranked No. 33, is 31-12 overall and 18-5 in duals. This season Wurtzman has defeated three nationally-ranked opponents: Vanderbilt’s then No. 63 Bobby Reynolds (7-6, 7-6), Alabama’s No. 36 Max Belski (7-6, 6-2), and Louisville’s No. 121 Cody Conley (6-4,6-4).%^$

%^$Adrian Bohane (So., West Palm Beach, Fla./Palm Beach Lakes) is ranked No. 114 in singles in the Omni Hotels Collegiate Tennis Rankings. Bohane is 24-14 overall and 6-4 in the Big Ten this season. Bohane is 5-5 this year against nationally-ranked opponents in singles. He defeated Alabama’s No. 96 Chris Gostek, 6-4, 6-1, and Indiana State’s No. 113 Lovre Brajkovic, 6-1, 6-2.%^$

%^$Freshman Paul Warkentin is making an impact for the Buckeyes by winning 13 straight singles matches. He is 25-7 overall and 18-4 in duals this spring. Warkentin scored the game point against Minnesota by defeating Avery Ticer in three sets, 7-6, 6-7, 6-4.%^$

%^$Ng moved into the top career singles wins chart this season. Ng currently has 89 career wins, last season he ended with 38 wins. Metz currently has 83 career wins in singles. Last season, Metz ended with 64 wins.%^$


CAREER SINGLES WINS%^$1. Roger Smith 1983-86 126%^$2. Mike Massie 1983-86 113%^$3. Ernie Fernandez 1979-82 109%^$4. Chris Porter 1997-01 106%^$5. Kevin Dibelius 1987-90 91%^$6. Chris Gatt 1986-89 89%^$ Vince Ng 1999-02 89%^$8. Doug Bloom 1993-96 87%^$9. Stephen Miguel 1987-90 84%^$10. Phil Metz 2000-02 83%^$11. Richard Berry 1984-87 82%^$12. Sam Sebastin 1991-93 78%^$13. Gabor Koves 1990-93 77%^$14. Lior Rusinek 1980-83 76%^$15. Mark Wurtzman 1994-97 68%^$16. Jason Homorody 1993-96 67%^$17. Andrew Carlson 1996-01 66%^$18. Ben Basil 1996-99 65%^$ Ted Glavas 1986-89 65%^$ Jeff Sparr 1982-85 65%^$21. Ty Tucker 1989-91 64%^$ Scott Weisman 1985-88 64%^$

%^$Ng moved up in the season singles wins chart. He is third with 38 wins, last season Ng moved to sixth with 33 wins. Wurtzman was recently added in the season singles wins list and is tied at 8th with 31 wins. Last season, Wurtzman won 24.%^$

%^$Ty Tucker is in his third season as the head coach of the Buckeye tennis program and is coming off a campaign in which the Buckeyes made their second-consecutive NCAA tournament appearance, captured the championship of the Big Ten tournament and saw Tucker tabbed as the conference coach of the year. Tucker served as an assistant under John Daly for two years (1997-99) in which the Buckeyes went without a win in conference play. Since taking the reigns at OSU, Tucker’s squads have gone 59-18 overall with a 27-8 mark in the Big Ten.%^$

%^$The victory over Penn State March 17 marked the 50th career victory for OSU head coach Ty Tucker. Tucker’s career record is currently 59-18 in his third season.%^$

%^$The NCAA will announce Monday the teams that will play in the 2002 NCAA Tournament. The NCAA Regionals will be May 10-12 and the NCAA Championships will be May 18-27.%^$