Oct. 1, 2002

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The No. 20 Ohio State field hockey team (4-5-0, 0-1 Big Ten) faces in-state rival Ohio (2-4-0) at 3 p.m. Tuesday in Athens, Ohio. The Buckeyes end the week in Bloomington, Ind. where they will take on the Indiana Hoosiers at 3 p.m. Friday in a Big Ten conference game.

The Buckeyes fell to the No. 2-ranked Michigan Wolverines 4-1 Sept. 27 in Ann Arbor. The game was the Big Ten opener for both teams.

Michigan (8-1-0, 1-0) recorded two goals in the first half by Stephanie Johnson (13:33) and Jessica Rose (34:06). Buckeye junior Jenee Doto put Ohio State on the board with an unassisted shot from the left side at 36:51. The goal was Doto’s first of the season. But, the Wolverines tallied two more goals in the period. Molly Powers scored both goals for Michigan at 41:21 and 66:27.

“We played a lot better as a team today,” Anne Wilkinson, OSU head coach said. “We were on the 1 and 2-yard lines several times throughout the game, we just couldn’t put the ball in the net. All of their (Michigan) shots were on goal and every deflection was toward the goal.”

The Wolverines recorded 16 shots in the game to Ohio State’s nine shots. Michigan also had a 10-1 advantage on penalty corners.

Ohio State goalkeeper Lara Koole recorded five saves while Michigan goalkeeper Molly Maloney had six saves. SCOUTING OHIO
The Bobcats (2-4-0) are coming off a 5-3 win over Miami (Ohio) Sept. 28. Senior Andrea Varos and sophomore Elizabeth Unger scored two goals apiece for Ohio while Elizabeth Holtzman recorded her first goal on the season in the win. Unger leads the team in scoring with 6 goals (12 points) while Voros has recorded four goals with a team-high 32 shots on goal. Goalkeeper Ashley Pitkin has seen action in all six games for the Bobcats and has tallied 104 saves.

Ohio has totaled 12 goals on 66 shot attempts in six games. The Green and White average 1.83 goals per game and have recorded 58 penalty corners.

The Buckeyes have complied a 16-6-2 record against Ohio since the first meeting in 1971. Ohio State defeated the Bobcats 3-2 last season in Columbus.

The Hoosiers (2-7) were defeated by Penn State 6-1 in their Big Ten Opener Sept. 29. Kayla Bashore scored the lone goal for the Hoosiers in the loss.

Bashore leads Indiana in scoring with three goals this season and has taken a team-high 13 shots on goal. Teammate Kimberly Nash has recorded two goals and two assists while Erica Nilsson also has two goals and an assist. Goalkeeper Molly Pulkrabek has started eight games for the Hoosiers, recording 74 saves.

Indiana has scored 10 goals on 62 shots this season.

Ohio State is 8-1-1 against the Hoosiers. The Buckeyes recorded two wins against Indiana last season, a 3-0 win in the regular season and a 5-0 victory in the Big Ten tournament.

OSU plays four Big Ten teams at home and three Big Ten teams on the road this season. The Buckeyes were defeated by Michigan 4-1 in Ann Arbor in the conference season opener. OSU will close out the regular season at home against Michigan State Nov. 2.

Junior forward Vanessa Immordino leads the Buckeyes in scoring this season. Immordino has tallied 14 points on five goals and four assists. She has started all nine games for the Buckeyes and has taken a team-high 25 shots on goal.

Senior defenders McKenzie Hufford and Jen Van Kirk will serve as 2002 Buckeye co-captains.

Hufford started 18 games as a junior and is described as a solid defender capable of running down the opposition. Last season, she scored two points on a goal against Ohio (10/2).

Van Kirk is another key asset to the Buckeye defense. As a junior, she started all 20 contests, led the OSU defense and helped the Buckeyes to four shutouts.

Now in her seventh season at Ohio State, head coach Anne Wilkinson has established the Buckeyes as both a perennial Top 20 program and as one of the upper-echelon teams in the Big Ten Conference.

Wilkinson came to OSU after an impressive nine-year stint as the head coach at American University in Washington, D.C. Wilkinson twice was named the conference coach of the year and earned regional coach of the year accolades once.

In the 2001 season at Ohio State, Wilkinson proved her team is capable of winning. The team finished the season 15-5 overall, 5-1 in the Big Ten and ranked No. 5 in the nation. The Buckeyes captured the first Big Ten regular-season championship and conference tournament championship in the 30-year history of the program. The championship title gave OSU an automatic bid to the NCAA tournament, which was only the second appearance for OSU in the history of the program. The Buckeyes complied their eighth-consecutive winning season and the sixth under Wilkinson.

Kate Starre, a native of Armadale, Australia, begins her first season as an assistant coach with the Buckeyes.

Starre is a two-time Olympic gold medal winner as a member of the Australian National Team, she participated in the 1996 Olympic Games in Atlanta and the 2000 Games in Sydney. She also participated in the 1992 Olympics in Barcelona, Spain, where the Australian team finished fifth. Starre helped the Australian squad win the World Cup in 1994 and 1998.

Starre brings six years of coaching experience to Ohio State. She was the head coach at Kanbalda Ladies College in Sydney, Australia, in 1994 and St. Mary’s Ladies College in Perth, Australia, in 1995. Starre came to the United States in 1996 and joined the staff at Northwestern University as an assistant coach (1997-98). Most recently, she completed two seasons as the head coach of the Rush Field Hockey Club (2001-02).

Being crowned the 2001 Big Ten Tournament Champions and playing host to the tournament this season will be an added advantage for the Buckeyes. OSU plays host to the 2002 Big Ten Tournament Nov. 8-10 at the North Turf Field located at the Woody Hayes Athletic Facility.

Ohio State returns home for a three game home stretch. The Buckeyes face the Northwestern Wildcats at 3 p.m. Oct. 11, the Penn State Nittany Lions at noon Oct. 19 and the Ball State Cardinals at 3 p.m. Oct. 27. All games will be played at the North Turf Field located at the Woody Hayes Athletic Center.