Feb. 15, 2011
Vote for Lighty:
No. 2 Ohio State (24-1, 11-1) vs. Michigan State (14-10, 6-6)
Value City Arena (18,809)
Game Time: 9 p.m. ET
Television: ESPN
Talent: Brent Musburger (play-by-play), Dick Vitale (expert analysis), Jill Montgomery (Sideline)
Radio: OSU Radio Network (60 stations)
Satellite Radio: Sirius-122, XM-143
Local Radio: WBNS FM-97.1 AM-1460
Radio Talent: Paul Keels (play-by-play), Ron Stokes (expert analysis)

Homecourt Advantage
Since Thad Matta took over Buckeye program in 2004-05, Ohio State is 115-10 in Columbus, the most home wins among Big Ten schools. Over the last two seasons Ohio State is 33-1 in Columbus.

Sullinger Among Naismith Midseason Top 30
Jared Sullinger has been named to the 2010-11 Naismith midseason list of the top 30 men’s basketball talent in the nation, announced last Friday by the Atlanta Tipoff Club. The Naismith Trophy will be awarded at the 2011 NCAA Men’s Final Four in Houston. Fan voting via text message will account for 25 percent of all of the final results – more than any other national college basketball award. Ohio State’s Evan Turner received the Naismith Award a year ago, sweeping the national player of the year awards.

Scott, Williams Add to Ohio State’s 17-Player McDonald’s List
Ohio State recruits Shannon Scott (2011) and Amir Williams (2011) were selected Feb. 10 to represent the East (Scott) and West (Williams) teams in the 2011 McDonald’s All-America game. The game will be played March 30 at the United Center in Chicago. The Buckeyes currently have three All-America game participants on their roster in Jared Sullinger (2010), Deshaun Thomas (2010) and William Buford (2008).
     Four McDonald’s All-Americans were a part of Ohio State’s 2006-07 squad that finished 35-4 overall, 15-1 in Big Ten Conference play, won the league regular-season title outright and played for the NCAA national title vs. Florida in April of 2007. Ivan Harris (2003), Greg Oden (2006), Mike Conley Jr. (2006) and Daequan Cook (2006), all former McDonald’s All-Americans, played for the Buckeyes in 2006-07. Previously,  B.J. Mullens (2008), Kosta Koufos (2007), Clark Kellogg (1979), Perry Carter (1987), Treg Lee (1987), Jim Jackson (1989), Charles Macon (1992) and Greg Simpson (1992) all played for Ohio State after playing in the McDonald’s All-America game before joining the Ohio State program for a total of 17 all-time.

Matta Earns Another 20-Win Season, Sets Record for 10-Win League Seasons
For each of the last 11 seasons, all as a head coach, Thad Matta has guided teams to at least 20 victories. Only Mark Few, among active coaches, has more consecutive 20-win seasons to start a career (11). Gonzaga is 17-9 this season. Matta set the Ohio State record for consecutive 20-win campaigns in 2008-09 with a 22-11 record and extended it this season with win No. 20 vs. Illinois Jan. 22 in Champaign, the seventh-consecutive Ohio State season with 20+ victories. The previous record was four held by the 1960-63 teams under legendary head coach Fred Taylor. Matta also has won at least 10 Big Ten regular-season games in each of the last six seasons. That effort surpassed Taylor’s mark of 10+ league wins in each of the five seasons from 1960-64. Those were during 14-game regular-season slates. The Big Ten played a 16-game schedule in Matta’s first three seasons (8, 12, 15 league wins) and an 18-game schedule the last four (10, 10, 14, 11).

Lighty one of 10 Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award Finalists
David Lighty was named one of 10 finalists for the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award in men’s basketball Jan. 26. Fan voting is underway. One-third of the award will be determined by fan voting. Coaches and media make up the other two-thirds. Fans can vote online at The award is presented each year to the outstanding senior NCAA Division I Student-Athlete of the Year across nine different sports. The acronym “CLASS” stands for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®. The Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award celebrates the loyalty of seniors that honor a four-year commitment to their university. The Senior CLASS Award® recognizes these student-athletes for great achievement during competition and in their community while staying in school.

Buckeyes Comfortable at VCA
The Buckeyes are 15-0 at home this season in Value City Arena (1-0 at St. John Arena). In games at VCA, Ohio State is shooting 49 percent from the field (441-894). The Buckeyes are outscoring opponents by 25 ppg. and have a rebounding advantage of 7.9 rpg. No opponent has scored more than 66 points at Value City Arena this season. Ohio State finished 17-1 at home last season, the second most home victories in a season at Ohio State. The team reached 100 or more points three times and averaged a margin of victory of +22.1. The Buckeyes opened the 2010-11 campaign with a 102-61 victory over NC A&T and recently defeated UT-Martin 100-40. Ohio State is 69-1 all-time when scoring 100 or more points in a game.

The Ohio State, Michigan State Series
Michigan State leads the all-time series with the Buckeyes 58-50 with Ohio State leading 36-16 in Columbus. Ohio State has won the last two meetings with the Spartans. As a ranked team, Ohio State is 18-8 in games vs. Michigan State, including wins in the last four meetings as a ranked team.   Junior William Buford is Ohio State’s top scorer in the Michigan State series with 14.8 points per game over his four career games vs. the Spartans. He also is Ohio State’s top rebounder with an average of 5.3 rebounds a game.

Ohio State vs. the Big Ten
Illinois 63-99
Indiana 73-99
Iowa 69-73
Michigan 89-71
Michigan State 50-58
Minnesota 78-55
Northwestern 108-45
Penn State 25-12
Purdue 76-82
Wisconsin 81-65
Total 712-659

For Complete Notes, News and Numbers for the Michigan State game, click on OHIO STATE NOTES link above.