April 11, 2002

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

COLUMBUS, Ohio— The No. 14 Ohio State men’s tennis team (17-2 overall, 6-0 Big Ten) will play their final regular-season home matches against the Indiana Hoosiers (6-12, 0-6 Big Ten) at noon Saturday and the No. 40 Purdue Boilermakers (9-8, 4-2 Big Ten) at noon Sunday. Both matches will be held at the Stickney Tennis Center, weather permitting. The Buckeyes finish the regular season on the road against No. 39 Northwestern and No. 2 Illinois before returning home to host the 2002 Big Ten Championships in Columbus April 25-28.

Buckeye Winning Streak OSU earned its 14th-consecutive victory this season against Michigan. The Buckeyes will attempt to break the team record of 16-consecutive wins, achieved last season.

The Buckeyes reached No. 12 March 20 in the Omni Hotels Collegiate Tennis Rankings, this was highest ranking in the history of men’s tennis program. Last season the highest ranking OSU reached was No. 16.

Ng Reached Milestone
Vince Ng (Jr., Broadview Heights, Ohio/University School) reached his 35th victory this year April 7, surpassing his 2000-01 record of 33-11. Ng defeated Michigan’s Greg Novak (7-6, 6-2) to reach 35 wins and his 18th victory in duals this season. Last Saturday, Ng came back after losing the first set, 3-6, to defeat Michigan State’s and Columbus native Jimmy McGuire, 6-3, 6-4, at the No. 4 position. Ng also defeated Louisville’s Alex Sivertsen, 6-4, 6-3. Ng is 35-6 overall and 6-0 in the Big Ten. Ng is 18-1 in duals this season, his loss was against Virginia Tech’s Stephanie Rod, 8-5. METZ Ranked No. 25
Phil Metz (Jr., Mentor, Ohio/Mentor) is 16-8 overall and 4-2 in the Big Ten. Metz is OSU’s top rated player at No. 25. He is 8-3 against nationally-ranked opponents with defeats over then No. 16 Mario Toledo and No. 17 Romain Ambert. Last time out, Metz pulled off a victory against Michigan’s No. 39 Henry Beam, 6-4, 7-6(6).

The Buckeyes are 6-0 in the Big Ten Conference so far this season. The team kicked off the Big Ten season with a victory against Wisconsin 6-1.OSU has defeated Minnesota, Penn State, Iowa, Michigan State, and Michigan this season. Ty Tucker, OSU head coach, has lead the Buckeyes to a 24-7 record in the Big Ten in his three years at the helm. Tucker also led the team to the Big Ten tournament championship in 2001. OSU’s all-time record against opponents in the Big Ten is 261-349-2.

Sophomore Sensation
Jeremy Wurtzman (So., Rochester, N.Y./Brickhouse Academy (Fla.), currently ranked No. 27, is 28-11 overall and 15-4 in duals. This season Wurtzman has defeated three nationally-ranked opponents: Vanderbilt’s then No. 63 Bobby Reynolds (7-6, 7-6), Alabama’s No. 36 Max Belski (7-6, 6-2), and Louisville’s No. 121 Cody Conley (6-4,6-4). Last weekend, Wurtzman defeated Michigan State’s Chris Mitchell, 6-3, 7-5, and Michigan’s Ben Cox, 4-1 (ret.).

Adrian Bohane (So., West Palm Beach, Fla./Palm Beach Lakes) is ranked No. 111 in singles in the Omni Hotels Collegiate Tennis Rankings. Bohane is 22-12 overall and 4-2 in the Big Ten this season. Bohane is 5-4 this year against nationally-ranked opponents in singles. He defeated Alabama’s No. 96 Chris Gostek, 6-4, 6-1, and Indiana State’s No. 113 Lovre Brajkovic, 6-1, 6-2. In the Big Ten, Bohane defeated Wisconsin’s Scott Rutherford (4-6, 6-3, 6-4), Penn State’s Brad Nudell (6-2, 6-4,), and Iowa’s Petar Mandle (6-1, 6-3).

Freshman Paul Warkentin is making an impact for the Buckeyes by winning his last 10 singles matches. He is 22-6 overall and 15-3 in duals this spring. Warkentin scored the game point against Minnesota by defeating Avery Ticer in three sets, 7-6, 6-7, 6-4. On the road, Warkentin defeated Penn State’s Josh Rubens, 6-4, 6-4, and Coastal Carolina’s Arnaud Caffin, 7-5, 6-4.

Kirskey kicking it into gear
Ben Kirskey (So., Canton, Ohio/McKinley), despite not having a lot of playing time this season, is kicking it into gear when he is on the court. Kirskey is 6-0 in duals and 11-9 overall in singles. Some of Kirskey’s defeats include Toledo’s Todd Wojtkowski (6-2, 6-3), Butler’s Abel Contretras (6-1, 6-2), and Coastal Carolina’s Mohammed El Bouzkouri, 6-4, 6-4. Kirskey’s last time out, he defeated Nebraska’s Jose Rivera, 6-4, 6-3.

Ty Tucker is in his third season as the head coach of the Buckeye tennis program and is coming off a campaign in which the Buckeyes made their second-consecutive NCAA tournament appearance, captured the championship of the Big Ten tournament and saw Tucker tabbed as the conference coach of the year. Tucker served as an assistant under John Daly for two years (1997-99) in which the Buckeyes went without a win in conference play. Since taking the reigns at OSU, Tucker’s squads have gone 56-17 overall with a 24-7 mark in the Big Ten.

The victory over Penn State March 17 marked the 50th career victory for OSU head coach Ty Tucker. Tucker’s career record is currently 56-17 in his third season.

Ng moved into the top career singles wins chart this season. Ng currently has 86 career wins, last season he ended with 38 wins. Metz currently has 80 career wins in singles. Last season, Metz ended with 64 wins.

CAREER SINGLES WINS 1. Roger Smith 1983-86 126 2. Mike Massie 1983-86 113 3. Ernie Fernandez 1979-82 109 4. Chris Porter 1997-01 106 5. Kevin Dibelius 1987-90 91 6. Chris Gatt 1986-89 89 7. Doug Bloom 1993-96 87 8. Vince Ng 1999-02 86 9. Stephen Miguel 1987-90 84 10. Richard Berry 1984-87 82 11. Phil Metz 2000-02 80 12. Sam Sebastin 1991-93 78 13. Gabor Koves 1990-93 77 14. Lior Rusinek 1980-83 76 15. Mark Wurtzman 1994-97 68 16. Jason Homorody 1993-96 67 17. Andrew Carlson 1996-01 66 18. Ben Basil 1996-99 65 Ted Glavas 1986-89 65 Jeff Sparr 1982-85 65 21. Ty Tucker 1989-91 64 Scott Weisman 1985-88 64

Indiana is 6-12 overall and 0-6 in the Big Ten. Junior Zach Held and freshman Ryan Recht upset Notre Dame’s fifth ranked doubles team of Javier Taborga and Casey Smith. Senior Milan Rakvica also upset Notre Dame’s No. 11 Taborga, 6-4, 6-4. Head coach Ken Hydinger is in his 18th season with an overall record of 270-184-1. Hydinger has led four teams to 20-win seasons and was named Big Ten Coach of the Year in 1992.

The match Saturday will be the 73th meeting between the two teams. OSU is at 33-39 vs. Indiana in the all-time series. The Buckeyes beat the Hoosiers 4-3 last season.

Purdue is 9-8 overall and 4-2 in the Big Ten. This season the Boilermakers have defeated Iowa, Indiana, Minnesota, and Wisconsin. The duo of Laith Al-Agba and Carl McCafferty won at the No. 2 doubles spot against Minnesota and Wisconsin, improving their record to 10-4 overall and 4-0 in the Big Ten. McCaffery won Co-Big Ten Player of the week April 10. Head coach Tim Madden is in his eighth season with the Boilermakers and his record at Purdue is 133-92. Madden has produced six-consecutive winning seasons and was named Big Ten Coach of the Year in 1996.

Ohio State is up 59-18 against Purdue in the all-time series. The match Sunday will be the teams 78th meeting. The Buckeyes have defeated the Boilermakers the last two seasons.

The Buckeyes defeated No. 30 Michigan for the first time since 1993 with a 6-1 decision last Sunday at Stickney Tennis Center. OSU ended Michigan’s consecutive win streak against OSU at nine matches. The Buckeyes are 12-73-1 vs. Michigan in the all-time series.

The Ohio State University will play host to the 2002 Big Ten Tournament at the Stickney Tennis Center April 25-28. All 11 teams will compete for their chance to earn the conference’s automatic berth into the NCAA tournament. The Buckeyes are the defending tournament champions after defeating Illinois, 4-2, last year at Wisconsin.

Ohio State goes on the road to play their last regular-season matches against No. 39 Northwestern at 1 p.m. April 20 and No. 2 Illinois at 1 p.m. April 21.

The Buckeyes return home to host the 2002 Big Ten Championships in Columbus April 25-28.