April 14, 2002

COLUMBUS, Ohio– The No. 19 Ohio State men’s tennis team defeated No. 40 Purdue, 6-1, in their last home match of the regular-season Sunday afternoon at Jesse West Owens Recreation Center. The Buckeyes (19-2 overall, 8-0 Big Ten) swept the doubles matches and only gave up one point to the Boilermakers (9-10, 4-4) in singles action. OSU earned its 16th-consecutive victory this season, tying the all-time program record set last season. This is the first time in the history of the men’s tennis program that the Buckeyes have ever gone undefeated at home during the regular-season. Today’s victory was the Buckeyes 15-consecutive home win, breaking the all-time program record of 14-consecutive home wins set in the 1982-83 season.

“I am very pleased with the team’s victory,” Ty Tucker, OSU head coach, said. “We played very tough Purdue doubles teams and the guys performed the best in doubles all year.”

The Buckeyes swept all three doubles matches for the eighth time this season. Adrian Bohane (So., West Palm Beach, Fla./Palm Beach Lakes) and Paul Warkentin (Fr., Santa Barbara, Calif./San Marcos) upset Purdue’s No. 39 doubles team of Scott Mayer and Dan Swan, 8-5, at the No. 1 position. Conor Casey (So., Ontario, Canada/Mississippi) and Jeremy Wurtzman (So., Rochester, N.Y./Florida) defeated Laith Al-Agba and Carl McCafferty, 8-5. Brenton Contini (So., Dover, Ohio/Dover) and Phil Metz (Jr., Mentor, Ohio/Mentor) defeated Derek Miller and Andrew Wakefield, 8-6, at the No. 3 position. In OSU singles action, No. 111 Bohane scored the second point of the match for the Buckeyes by defeating McCafferty, 6-3, 6-4, at the No. 3 position. No. 27 Wurtzman defeated Mayer, 7-6, 6-1, at the No. 1 position. No. 25 Metz topped Miller, 6-2, 6-3. Warkentin pulled off a defeat against Al-Agba, 7-6, 6-4. Vince Ng (Jr., Broadview Heights, Ohio/University School) crushed Troy Havens 6-2, 6-2. Casey defeated Wakefield in the first set but could not hold him, 4-6, 6-4, 6-4.

“We have two more matches to play and a lot of work to be done, but we are looking forward to the wars ahead,” Tucker said.

OSU goes on the road to play its last regular-season matches against No. 39 Northwestern at 1 p.m. Saturday in Evanston, Ill. and No. 2 Illinois at 1 p.m. Sunday in Champaign, Ill. The Buckeyes return home to host the 2002 Big Ten Championships in Columbus April 25-28.

#19 Ohio State 6 #40 Purdue 1

No. 1 #27 Jeremy Wurtzman (OSU) def. Scott Mayer (PU) 7-6, 6-1
No. 2 #25 Phil Metz (OSU) def. Derek Miller (PU) 6-2, 6-3
No. 3 #111 Adrian Bohane (OSU) def. Carl McCafferty (PU) 6-3, 6-4
No. 4 Andrew Wakefield (PU) def. Conor Casey (OSU) 4-6, 6-4, 6-4
No. 5 Paul Warkentin (OSU) def. Laith Al-Agba (PU) 7-6, 6-4
No. 6 Vince Ng (OSU) def. Troy Havens (PU) 6-2, 6-2

No. 1 Bohane/Warkentin (OSU) def. #49 Mayer/Dan Swan (PU) 8-5
No. 2 Casey/Wurtzman (OSU) def. Al-Agba/McCafferty (PU) 8-5
No. 3 Brenton Contini/Metz (OSU) def. Miller/Wakefield (PU) 8-6