Nov. 15, 2006

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

No. 15 Ohio State
(0-0-0; 0-0-0 Big Ten)
No. 3 Missouri
(0-0-0; 0-0-0 Big 12)

7:30 p.m.
Thursday, Nov. 16, 2006
St. John Arena
Web : Live web streaming with audio on

Probable Match ups

Ohio State Missouri Will Livingston 125 John Olanowski Enright/R. Humphrey 133 Tyler McCormick J Jaggers 141 Amond Prater Jason Johnstone 149 Josh Wagner Chris Vondruska 157 Michael Chandler Meet Time Decision 165 Matt Pell Blake Maurer 174 Ben Askren Mike Pucillo 184 Raymond Jordan J.D. Bergman 197 Max Askren Corey Morrison HWT Mark Ellis

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The fifteenth-ranked Ohio State wrestling team will begin dual action when it hosts No. 3 Missouri at 7:30 p.m. Thursday in St. John Arena.

The meet will mark the first dual for the Scarlet and Gray under first-year head coach Tom Ryan. It also will be Ryan and the Buckeyes’ debut at home in St. John Arena for the 2006-07 season.

Live web streaming with audio of the meet between Ohio State and Missouri is available on For more information, log onto

Future meets also to be streamed live on the official Ohio State Department of Athletics web site are the Indiana (Jan. 28) and Michigan State (Feb. 2) match ups.

The meet Thursday between Ohio State and Missouri is the Scarlet and Gray game for the wrestling team this season. Student-athletes from the other 35 Ohio State teams are encouraged to attend the game and support their fellow Buckeyes.

Ohio State students will receive free admission to the Buckeyes vs. Tigers meet Thursday when they present a valid BuckID.

Ohio State is ranked in the Top 20 in three major polls. The Buckeyes are 15th in the USA Today/InterMat/NWCA rankings, 10th in the W.I.N. standings and 16th in polls.

In the USA Today/InterMat/NWCA preseason polls (Oct. 20, 2006), eight of the 10 OSU weight classes are ranked in the Top 20.

133 – No. 18 T.J. Enright/Reece Humphrey
141 – No. 6 J Jaggers
149 – No. 19 Jason Johnstone/Lance Palmer
157 – No. 14 Chris Vondruska
174 – No. 12 Blake Maurer
184 – No. 13 Alex Picazo/Mike Pucillo
197 – No. 5 J.D. Bergman
285 – No. 3 Kirk Nail

J.D. Bergman won the 197 weight class at the Michigan State Open Nov. 12 at Jenison Field House in East Lansing, Mich. Bergman won the title in 2004 as a sophomore and was runner-up his freshman year in 2003 at 197 pounds. In the all day tournament, Bergman recorded three falls on his way to the championship match as the No. 1 seed against Michigan’s Nick Roy. In the final bout, Bergman defeated Roy, 5-2.

Thirteen members of the team competed in the open tournament. Including Bergman, a total of seven other Buckeyes finished in the Top 8 of their respective weight classes. Corey Morrison took fourth at 185 pounds, Jason Johnstone was fifth at 149 pounds, T.J. Enright placed sixth at 133 pounds, Blake Maurer wrestled to a sixth-place finish at 174 pounds, Will Livingston was seventh at 125 pounds and Lance Palmer finished eighth at 149 pounds.

Third-ranked Missouri has five NCAA qualifiers back, including three All-Americans, from its 2005-06 squad that went 13-5 overall, won the Big 12 and placed 15th at the NCAA championships. Senior Ben Askren is the defending national champion in the 174-pound weight class and is a three-time All-American. Matt Pell was an All-American at 184 last season, but is wrestling at 165 this season, while Tyler McCormick is a returning All-American at 133. Head coach Brian Smith is a 1990 Michigan State graduate and is in his ninth year at Missouri with a 98-53-1 overall record.

Ohio State is 4-7 against Missouri. The teams met last season in Columbia, Mo., at the Hearnes Center where the Buckeyes dropped a 25-13 decision.

The Buckeyes are 47-30-2 all-time in dual meet season openers.

Ohio State opens its dual schedule at home in St. John Arena for the first time since the 2002-03 campaign when it faced Northern Illinois in the Buckeye Duals. The Buckeyes tied the Huskies, 20-20.

Members of the Ohio State wrestling team also will compete in the East Stroudsburg Open Saturday in East Stroudsburg, Pa., and the Missouri Open Sunday in Columbia, Mo.

Tom Ryan enters his inaugural season as head coach of the Ohio State wrestling team in 2006-07. Ryan, who joins OSU following 11 seasons at Hofstra, is the Buckeyes’ ninth head coach in the program’s 86-year history.

At Hofstra, Ryan led the Pride to six consecutive conference titles, which included the Colonial Athletic Association crown in 2006. Hofstra won the Eastern Collegiate Wrestling Association championship in 2001 before winning five consecutive CAA titles. During his tenure with the Pride, which began in 1995, Ryan was named conference coach of the year seven times. He also was a two-time New York State Coach of the Year.

Highlights of Ryan’s coaching career at Hofstra included recording a 47-match (46-0-1) conference unbeaten streak in dual action dating back to 1999. The mark stands as the nation’s longest conference unbeaten streak. Overall, Ryan compiled a 109-83-1 record in his first head coaching stint.

Ryan has guided 65 wrestlers to NCAA championship appearances, including eight in 2006. Eleven of his wrestlers earned All-America honors, while 10 were named Academic All-Americans. He also coached his wrestlers to 45 individual conference titles.

Prior to his head coaching role at Hofstra, Ryan was an assistant coach at Indiana from 1992-1994. Ryan was responsible for the daily training for middleweight wrestlers, weight training and recruiting.

In addition to his collegiate coaching experience, Ryan began operating Elite Wrestling Inc., in Hempstead, N.Y., in 1995. Ryan produced a wrestling school that enrolled more than 400 members and 500 summer campers. Elite Wrestling also is the title of Ryan’s recently completed second book.

The NCAA and ESPN announced in October expanded live television coverage of the 2007 NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships March 15-17 in Auburn Hills, Mich.

For the first time, in the 77-year history of the Division I Wrestling Championships, the Saturday morning medal round will be televised. Scheduled for 10 a.m. EST March 17 on ESPNU, the championships medal round determines the third through eighth place finishers who are honored as All-Americans.

The 2007 championships are March 15-17 at the Palace of Auburn Hills in Auburn Hills, Mich. The University of Michigan and the Detroit Metro Sports Commission will serve as hosts.

Tickets for the 2007 championships are available by visiting

Ohio State will travel to Ithaca, N.Y., to face Cornell at 2 p.m. Nov. 26 at the Friedman Wrestling Center.