April 28, 2000

%^$COLUMBUS, Ohio – The No. 22 Ohio State women’s tennis team posted a 4-1 win over Michigan in the quarterfinal round of the Big Ten Championship at the Varsity Tennis Center in Ann Arbor, Mich. today. The Buckeyes, the No. 1 seed in the tournament, improved their record to 17-6 overall with their ninth-consecutive victory. The Wolverines fell to 10-12 on the season and were eliminated from the tournament. Ohio State, the Big Ten regular season champion, will face the winner of the Minnesota/Iowa matchup in the semifinals tomorrow at noon.%^$

%^$Ohio State won two of three doubles matches to earn the doubles point. The Buckeyes’ No. 20-ranked duo of Kristy Dascoli (Jr., Bradenton, Fla./Bradenton Academy) and Monica Rincon (So., Lapeer, Mich./Lapeer West) defeated the Wolverines’ Brooke Hart and Jen Duprez, 8-4, at No. 1 to record its ninth-consecutive win. Claudia Castro (So., Dublin, Ohio/Aquinas) and Michelle Matko (So., Aurora, Ill./Aurora West) posted an 8-5 win at No. 3 over Erryn Weggenman and Joanne Musgrove to win the doubles point.%^$

%^$The Buckeyes won three singles matches to clinch the victory. Rincon became the all-time single-season wins leader in program history after recording her 30th win of the season with a defeat of Danielle Lund at No. 2. Dascoli won her 13th-consecutive match at No. 1 as she topped Hart in two sets, while Matko beat Szandra Fuzesi at No. 3 for her ninth-consecutive win. Michigan’s Weggenman posted a win at No. 6 over Taryn Bowen (Fr., Columbus, Ohio/Upper Arlington), while the other two matches were abandoned after Ohio State won the match.%^$

%^$The semifinal round will be held tomorrow, with the championship game scheduled for Sunday at noon. The tournament champion earns the league’s automatic bid to the NCAA Championships.%^$

%^$Big Ten Women’s Tennis Championship
%^$Ohio State 4, Michigan 1
%^$April 28, 2000, Ann Arbor, Mich.

%^$Kristy Dascoli (OSU) def. Brooke Hart (UM)
%^$6-3, 6-4
%^$Monica Rincon (OSU) def. Danielle Lund (UM)
%^$6-3, 6-1
%^$Michelle Matko (OSU) def. Szandra Fuzesi (UM)
%^$6-1, 6-3
%^$Sadhaf Pervez (OSU) vs. Jen Duprez (UM)
%^$Laura Maloney (OSU) vs. Joanne Musgrove
%^$Erryn Weggenman (UM) def. Taryn Bowen (OSU)
%^$6-2, 6-0

%^$Dascoli/Rincon (OSU) def. Hart/Duprez (UM)
%^$Lund/Fuzesi (UM) def. Maloney/Pervez (OSU)
%^$Matko/Claudia Castro (OSU) def. Musgrove/Weggenman