April 21, 2019

No. 1 Ohio State Crowned Big Ten Regular Season Champions with 7-0 Victory over Indiana


Final Scores(PDF)

Season Stats

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Ohio State university men’s tennis team clinched it’s 14th-consecutive Big Ten regular season title on Sunday afternoon with a 7-0 win over Indiana.

The Buckeyes earned at least a share of the Big Ten title on Friday with a 7-0 victory over Purdue. Entering the match 25-2 overall and 10-0 in conference play, the Buckeyes needed one more win to take the title. With the win over Indiana the Buckeyes are now 44-0 in conference play over the last four seasons.

The Buckeyes were able to block out all distractions of Senior Day and with the title on the line, and performed great. Ohio State took the doubles point once again, finishing the season 27-1 in doubles play. Big performances from Martin Joyce, JJ Wolf, Alex Kobelt and Kyle Seelig propelled the Buckeyes in front early. The most common pairs for the Buckeyes so far this season have been No. 28 Kobelt/Seelig, No. 30 Wolf/Joyce and McNally/Tubert. The three tandems have combined for a doubles record of 51-6. John McNally and Hunter Tubert finished the regular season unblemished with a doubles record of 18-0.

Singles play went great for the Buckeyes are four of six courts jumped out to big leads.  No. 1 JJ Wolf dominated No. 68 Antonio Cembellin on court one. The match was never in doubt and once again Wolf showed why hes the best college tennis player in the nation. Wolf finished the regular season with a 2018-19 record of 29-0. Kyle Seelig found himself in a whole early on in the first set but would rally and go on to defeat his opponent in two sets. The afternoon was successful all around. Senior Hunter Tubert picked up a victory on court six to make his senior day even better. In addition, Senior Martin Joyce dropped his first set before coming all the way back and winning the match in a third set super-breaker.

Notable singles records heading into postseason play:

  • JJ Wolf: 29-0
  • John McNally: 23-5
  • Alex Kobelt: 24-4
  • James Trotter: 10-3
  • Kyle Seelig: 22-7

With the 7-0 win over Indiana, the Buckeyes were crowned champions for the 14th-straight season and capped off their fourth-consecutive 11-0 regular season finish in conference play. Graduating seniors Martin Joyce and Hunter Tubert finish their careers 44-0 as Buckeyes in regular season conference play.

Up next for the Buckeyes will be the Big Ten Tournament held in Ann Arbor next week. The Buckeyes enter the tournament as the No. 1 seed and earned a first round bye. Ohio State will face the winner of Minnesota/Wisconsin on April 26 at 10:00 am EST. The Buckeyes will look to repeat as champions, having won the event last year in Iowa City.

Singles competition
1. #1 JJ Wolf (OSU) def. #68 Antonio Cembellin (IND) 6-2, 6-2
2. #23 John McNally (OSU) def. Zac Brodney (IND) 6-3, 7-5
3. Martin Joyce (OSU) def. Carson Haskins (IND) 3-6, 6-3, 1-0 (10-3)
4. #56 Kyle Seelig (OSU) def. Andrew Redding (IND) 6-3, 6-3
5. Alex Kobelt (OSU) def. Vikash Singh (IND) 6-2, 6-3
6. Hunter Tubert (OSU) def. William Piekarsky (IND) 6-3, 6-2

Doubles competition
1. #30 JJ Wolf/Martin Joyce (OSU) def. Antonio Cembellin/Patrick Fletchall (IND) 6-1
2. #28 Kyle Seelig/Alex Kobelt (OSU) def. Zac Brodney/Andrew Redding (IND) 6-3
3. John McNally/Hunter Tubert (OSU) vs. Payam Ahmadi/Carson Haskins (IND) 4-1, unfinished

Match Notes:
Indiana 13-11 (6-5)
Ohio State 26-2 (11-0); National ranking #1
Order of finish: Doubles (2,1); Singles (1,5,6,4,2,3)
Official: Douglas Rice T-2:05 A-202

Ohio State Buckeyes