April 17, 2014


COLUMBUS, Ohio– The No. 1 Ohio State men’s tennis team closes out the 2014 regular season this weekend, hosting Iowa at 6 p.m. Friday and No. 63 Nebraska at Noon Sunday. The Buckeyes (25-3, 9-0) can clinch the outright Big Ten title this weekend to mark their ninth-consecutive championship and 13th overall in program history. The team also will recognize Peter Kobelt as part of Senior Day Sunday against the Huskers.

The match Friday night will be at the Varsity Tennis Center located on Henderson road, while Sunday’s match is scheduled to be played outside. 

Peter Kobelt
Peter Kobelt has been with the Ohio State program the last five years and has been a part of four Big Ten regular-season titles, three conference tournament championships and two NCAA Final Four appearances.  The native of New Albany, Ohio, Kobelt was the 2014 National Indoor Most Outstanding Player, leading Ohio State men’s tennis to its first national title in program history this past February. A two-time All-American, five-time regional champion, Kobelt was named a Big Ten Medal of Honor Finalist this spring. A five-time OSU Scholar-Athlete and two-time Academic All-Big Ten selection, Kobelt also was honored with The John Dana Cole Fund. This award, established in 1966, provides a one-time stipend for post-graduate studies at Ohio State. The recipient of this scholarship is a student-athlete who shows the promise of success in his/her chosen field and has demonstrated academic achievement.

Kobelt is in the Top 10 on the OSU career singles and doubles wins list, collecting a combined 246 wins (116s, 130d) at Ohio State. 

The Ohio State men’s tennis team was recognized at the 47th-annual Scholar-Athlete Dinner this past Monday. The Buckeyes claimed the top team GPA among the men’s program and was honored by the Men’s Varsity O.  Overall, five Buckeyes were named Scholar-Athletes, including Evan Bechtel, Chris Diaz, Marko Goles-Babic, Peter Kobelt and Kevin Metka.

With the win over Purdue last weekend, the Buckeyes claimed at least a share of the Big Ten regular-season title and can win the championship outright this weekend in Columbus. The Buckeyes have now won nine-consecutive Big Ten regular-season crowns and 13 overall. In conference play, the Scarlet and Gray (9-0) have won 91-consecutive league matches, which started during the 2006 campaign with a win at Iowa.

• The Buckeyes were ranked No. 1 this week in the ITA national poll for the seventh time in 2014.
• Ohio State has won 187-consecutive home matches, which is an NCAA all-time Division I record.
• With a 25-3 overall record, the Buckeyes own a 374-48 (.888) record as a Top 25 team since 2001.
• Redshirt Hunter Callahan leads the team with 27 wins in singles followed by classmate Kevin Metka (25) and senior Peter Kobelt (24).
• In dual matches, Callahan is 23-3, while Metka is 21-4 followed by redshirt freshman Ralf Steinbach, who also is 21-4.
• Kobelt has the top dual record at No. 1 singles (17-4), claiming wins over 12 nationally-ranked opponents.
• In doubles, Kobelt and Metka are 27-6 overall with a 9-3 mark vs. nationally-ranked pairs.